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Income 51: Estimated Income Tax  
 
Individuals and C corporations that receive non-wage income may be required to make quarterly estimated income tax 

payments. In general, Colorado law requires the payment of tax on income received throughout the tax year. In the 

case of wage income, the employer withholds the applicable amount of tax and remits it to the Department on the 

employee’s behalf. For other types of income, such as business income, capital gains, interest, dividends, and rents, 

the payer generally does not withhold any state tax. Consequently, taxpayers that receive these other types of income 

generally must remit quarterly estimated tax payments in order to pay tax as they receive income throughout the year. 

Taxpayers that do not remit required estimated payments are subject to an estimated tax penalty. Estates, trusts, and 

pass-through entities are not generally required to make estimated payments, but may elect to do so.    

ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS FOR INDIVIDUALS 

In general, an individual (or married couple, if filing jointly) must remit Colorado estimated tax payments if his or her 

total Colorado tax liability, less withholding and credits, exceeds $1,000. Colorado taxpayers who remit federal 

estimated tax payments to the IRS with federal Form 1040-ES typically must pay estimated tax to the Colorado 

Department of Revenue as well. The amount a taxpayer must remit for estimated payments is based upon the 

taxpayer’s net Colorado income tax liability for either the current or prior year.  

Net Colorado tax liability 

For the purpose of calculating required estimated tax payments, a taxpayer’s net Colorado income tax liability is the total 

tax determined on the taxpayer’s return or by any subsequent amendment or assessment minus certain credits. For this 

calculation, total tax includes Colorado tax, alternative minimum tax, and any recapture of prior year credits. The credits 

subtracted in this calculation consist of all credits other than wage withholding, non-resident real estate withholding, 

sales tax refund credits, and any payments remitted by the taxpayer. This calculation is illustrated below. 

Calculation of Net Colorado Tax Liability 

Total tax including: Minus Certain credits Equals  

 Colorado tax 

 Colorado alternative minimum tax 

 Recapture of prior year credits 

(-) 

All credits EXCEPT: 

 Wage withholding 

 Non-resident real estate withholding 

 Sales tax refund credit 

 Payments remitted by the taxpayer 

(=) 
Net Colorado 

tax liability 

Determining required payment amounts 

Taxpayers required to make estimated payments typically must make four equal quarterly payments. Each required 

quarterly payment is 25% of the total required annual payment. The total required annual payment is either 70% of the 

taxpayer’s net tax liability for the current tax year or 100% of the taxpayer’s net tax liability for the preceding tax year 

(110% if the taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income (“AGI”) for the preceding year was more than $150,000 or, if 

married filing separately (“MFS”), more than $75,000). The taxpayer cannot base their total required annual estimated 

payment on their liability for the prior year if the taxpayer did not file a Colorado income tax return for the prior tax 

year or if the taxpayer’s prior tax year was a short year (less than 12 months).  

Total Required Annual Payment 

Prior year AGI under 

$150,000 or $75,000 if MFS 

Prior year AGI over $150,000 

or $75,000 if MFS 

70% of current year liability 70% of current year liability 

100% of prior year liability* 110% of prior year liability* 

* A taxpayer’s total required annual payment can be based 

upon prior year liability only if the taxpayer’s prior tax year 

was 12 months and if the taxpayer filed a Colorado return. 
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Annualized income installment method 

The annualized income installment method allows taxpayers who do not receive income evenly throughout the year 

(for example, taxpayers who own a seasonal business or receive a lump sum payment late in the year) to calculate the 

amount of each quarterly estimated payment separately, based upon the income actually received in the months 

preceding the payment due date. Taxpayers may use the annualized income installment method only if they also use 

the annualized income installment method to compute their federal estimated tax payments.  

Individual taxpayers can use the following schedule, taken from Part 4 of Form 204, to calculate their required 

quarterly estimated payments using the annualized income installment method. In determining each required quarterly 

payment amount, the taxpayer must calculate their Colorado taxable income for the annualization period which, for 

calendar year filers, runs from January 1st through the end of the month preceding the due date of the payment. 

Generally, a taxpayer must first complete the federal annualized installment schedule (Schedule AI of Form 2210 or the 

Annualized Estimated Tax Worksheet from IRS Publication 505) in order to calculate their Colorado taxable income for 

each annualization period. Part-year residents and non-residents will also need to apportion their income to determine 

their Colorado taxable income (please see FYI Income 6 for information about apportionment). Taxpayers must retain 

records detailing the calculation of their quarterly estimated payments and provide those records to the Department 

upon request.    

Annualized Installment Method Schedule 

Quarterly payment due date* April 15th June 15th 
September 

15th 

January 15th 

of next year 

Annualization period* 
January 1 to 

March 31 

January 1 

to May 31 

January 1 to 

August 31 

January 1 to 

December 31 

1. Colorado taxable income during annualization 

period …………………………………………………………………… 1.     

2. Annualization factor…………………………………………… 2. 4 2.4 1.5 1 

3. Annualized taxable income (line 1 times line 2) … 3.     

4. Annualized Colorado tax (line 3 times 4.63%) .…… 4.     

5. Applicable percentage ………………………………………… 5. 17.5% 35% 52.5% 70% 

6. Installment payment amount due (line 4 times 

line 5, minus any amounts entered on line 6 for 

any earlier quarters) …………………………………………… 6.     

* The due dates and annualization periods listed here are for calendar year filers and must be adjusted to the 

corresponding dates and periods for any fiscal year filer. 
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Remitting estimated payments 

Taxpayers must remit any required quarterly estimated 

payments by the applicable due dates. Estimated tax 

payments are generally due on April 15, June 15, September 

15 of the tax year and January 15 of the following year. 

Please see the table to the right for due dates for both 

calendar year filers and fiscal year filers. If a required 

payment is not remitted or is underpaid, the Department will 

first credit any subsequent payments to resolve the 

underpayment, regardless of when the payment is received.  

Taxpayers may remit estimated payments through Revenue 

Online or via EFT. Taxpayers remitting estimated payments by 

check must include a Colorado Estimated Income Tax 

Payment Form (104EP) with their payment to ensure proper 

crediting of their account. 

Any taxpayer who jointly files their estimated tax with the IRS 

must also jointly file estimated tax with the State of 

Colorado. Please exercise care when remitting joint 

estimated payments and when filing joint returns to ensure 

that the taxpayers’ Social Security numbers are entered in the same order on all submitted forms. The Department 

credits estimated tax payments to the account associated with the Social Security number that is listed first on the 

104EP payment voucher. If, by mutual agreement between spouses or in the case of a surviving spouse, the payment 

needs to be applied in a manner other than originally requested on the 104EP, the taxpayer(s) must make a written 

request to the Department prior to the filing of the Colorado Income Tax Return (Form 104). 

Estimated tax penalty 

If a taxpayer fails to remit required estimated payments or underpays their required estimated tax, the taxpayer will 

owe an estimated tax penalty. The penalty is actually an assessment of interest, calculated on the unpaid or underpaid 

amount, from the due date of the payment until the date of payment is made or the date the annual income tax return 

is due, whichever is later. See Form 204 and FYI General 11 to determine the applicable interest rate. Taxpayers can 

calculate the estimated tax penalty they owe using Form 204. 

In calculating the penalty, a taxpayer’s wage withholding and nonresident real estate withholding are treated as a 

payment toward estimated tax, with 25% allocated to each quarter unless the taxpayer establishes the dates on which 

the amounts were actually withheld.  

Under certain circumstances a taxpayer may be exempt from the requirement to remit estimated payments. A 

taxpayer will owe no estimate tax payments and owe no estimated tax penalty if either of the following conditions 

exist: 

1. the taxpayer’s net Colorado tax liability minus all credits, withholding, and any sales tax refund (but not any 

payment the taxpayer remits), is less than $1,000; or 

2. the taxpayer was a full-year resident for the preceding tax year and the preceding tax year was 12 months and 

the taxpayer had no net Colorado tax liability for the preceding tax year. 

If the tax return is filed and any tax due is paid by January 31 of the following tax year, no penalty will be due for any 

underpayment of the fourth quarter installment payment. 

Due dates for quarterly estimated payments* 

Quarter 
Calendar year 

filers** 
Fiscal year filers** 

1st April 15th 15th day of fourth month 

2nd June 15th 15th day of sixth month 

3rd September 15th 15th day of ninth month 

4th 
January 15th of 

the next year 

15th day of first month of 

the next tax year 

* If any due date listed here falls on a Saturday, 

Sunday, or legal holiday, the payment will be due on 

the next business day. 

** Most individuals are calendar year filers, meaning 

they file tax returns for calendar years (from January 

1 through December 31). Rarely do individuals file 

their taxes on a fiscal year basis. 
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Farmers and fishermen 

Special rules apply for the calculation and remittance of required estimated payments for farmers and fisherman. A 

taxpayer is considered a farmer or fisherman subject to these special rules if at least 2/3 of their gross income is from 

farming or fishing for the tax year or for the preceding tax year. See IRS Publication 505 for assistance in calculating 

gross income from farming and fishing.  The Department verifies taxpayers’ farming and fishing income with the IRS. 

Three special rules apply to estimated tax payments for farmers and fisherman: 

1. A farmer or fisherman’s required annual payment, based upon his or tax liability for the current year, is 50% of 

actual net Colorado tax liability (rather than 70%). 

2. Farmers and fisherman are not required to make four quarterly payments, but rather are only required to make 

one payment, due January 15 of the following tax year, for the entire required annual amount. 

3. A farmer or fisherman owes no estimated tax penalty if he or she files a return and remits full payment of any 

tax due by March 1 of the following tax year. 

C CORPORATION ESTIMATED TAX 

Please see the Colorado Corporate Income Tax Guide for information about estimated tax for C corporations. 

ESTATES AND TRUSTS 

Colorado law does not require estimated tax payments for estates or trusts. However, a fiduciary may voluntarily make 

estimated payments for an estate or trust with the Estate/Trust Estimated Tax Payment Form (105EP). 

COMPOSITE RETURNS 

Partnerships and S corporations (collectively referred to as “pass-through entities) may file composite returns on behalf of 

some or all of their nonresident partners and shareholders (collectively referred to as “nonresident members”). Pass-

through entities are not required to make estimated payments, but individual nonresident members included in a 

composite return may be subject to the estimated payment requirements discussed in this FYI if their individual net 

Colorado tax liabilities exceed $1,000. Pass-through entities may use the Composite Nonresident Estimated Tax 

Payment Form (106EP) to remit payments on behalf of any nonresident member included in a composite who is subject 

to estimated payment requirements. Any estimated tax penalty due for a nonresident member included in a composite 

return will be computed on the individual level using the Form 204. 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 

 Colorado statutes and regulations 

o § 39-22-605, C.R.S. Failure by individual to pay estimated income tax. 

o Reg. 39-22-605. Estimated Individual Income Tax. 

 Colorado forms, publications, and guidance  

o FYI General 11 – Colorado Civil Tax Penalties and Interest 

o Form 204 – Underpayment of Colorado Individual Estimated Tax 

o www.colorado.gov/revenueonline  

 IRS forms, publications, and guidance 

o IRS Publication 505 – Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax 

o IRS Form 2210 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts 
 

FYIs represent a good faith effort to provide general information concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and straightforward language. 
By their nature, however, FYIs cannot and do not address all taxpayer situations nor do they provide a comprehensive overview of Colorado’s tax 
laws. For this reason, FYIs are not binding on the Colorado Department of Revenue, nor do they replace, alter, or supersede Colorado law and 
regulations.  

A taxpayer seeking additional guidance regarding the tax consequences of a particular transaction or factual scenario can request a Private Letter 
Ruling (PLR) or General Information Letter (GIL). Requests for PLRs and GILs must comply with certain requirements, which are currently set forth at 
1 Code of Colorado Regulations 201-1, Regulation 24-35-103.5. PLRs are binding upon the Department only with respect to the specific taxpayer that 
requested the PLR. GILs are for informational purposes only and are not binding on the Department. 

http://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline

