Board of County Commisioners

Board of County Commissioners

Commissioner District Map

District 1 - Peter McKay

District 2 - Scott Fetchenhier

District 3 - Ernest Kuhlman (Chairman)


The Board of County Commissioners serves as the administrative and policy-making body for San Juan County. The Commissioners are elected by voters to represent three districts. The Board approves the budget, hires staff, oversees land-use planning and development; and administers county services.

Voters elect the Clerk and Recorder, Sheriff, Assessor, Treasurer, Coroner and District Attorney, although the Board sets the budget for these offices each year.


About County Government

Counties in Colorado are a constitutional subdivision of state government. Their boundaries, which are set forth in statute, were drawn by the General Assembly. Initially, counties were created to carry out the programs and policies of the state. These functions have grown over the years to encompass many policy and operational areas not contemplated 130 years ago. Counties can exercise only those powers specifically expressed in statute or in the constitution.


County Government Structure

For most purposes, San Juan County acts through its Board of County Commissioners (BOCC). The three-member board acts, by majority vote of a quorum present, to adopt ordinances in those limited areas for which specific authority has been given by the State Legislature, and to adopt resolutions to conduct all of its other business. The BCC performs legislative, executive and quasi-judicial functions. The Board serves as the legislative, policy-making and administrative body governing the unincorporated areas of San Juan County. The BCC appoints a County Administrator to carry out the policy directions of the Board and to supervise and coordinate the work of the staff in the departments that fall under direct control of the Board. With the exception of the County Attorney, the County Administrator will have line authority over all County divisions under the BCC. The County Attorney is a constitutionally prescribed county office. By statute, the County Attorney is a position that is filled by appointment of the BCC. The County Attorney’s Office provides legal advice and representation for the BCC. The County Attorney, with the approval of the BCC, also advises and represents all other San Juan County elected officials, the County Administrator, department and division heads, and appointed commissions, boards and committees.


County Courthouse

1557 Greene St

PO Box 466

Silverton, CO 81433


As we are a very small County, our Commissioners do not hold regular office hours or have physical offices.  Messages through the above contact information will reach the Commissioners as soon as possible.