Treasurer / Public Trustee
Sharon L. Michael - Phillips County Treasurer/Public Trustee
Serving Phillips County since 2019
Sheila Gift - Deputy Treasurer
PO Box 267
Holyoke, CO 80734
(T) 970-854-2822 (F) 970-854-2822 (available during regular business hours 8:00 am – 4:30 pm M-F)
Colorado open record act fee policy
In order to pay for the cost of staff, custodians of public records within Phillips County may charge for research and retrieval time necessary to respond to requests for records under the Colorado Open Records Act ("CORA"). Pursuant to C.R.S. 24-72-205(6), effective July 1, 2014, staff time may be charged at a rate not to exceed $30.00 per hour. There shall be no charge for the first hour of time for research and retrieval of records.
When a record custodian receives a CORA request, the custodian may estimate the research and retrieval time it will take to research and retrieve the records request. The estimate of time and the appropriate fee may be provided to the requestor before work is performed, to determine if the requestor seeks to move forward with his/her request, understanding the associated cost. The custodian may require the requestor to pay the fee before proceeding to research and retrieve the records. If the requestor pays the fee based on the estimate and the time necessary to subsequently perform the research and retrieval of the records is less than the estimate, the custodian shall give a refund to the requestor.
Public Trustee's Information
The Public Trustee is responsible for processing Foreclosures and releasing Deeds of Trust.
Current release forms are available at Colorado County Treasurers' Association and Public Trustee Association of Colorado under the Public Trustees Association of Colorado (PTAC) tab. The current fee to release a Deed of Trust is $28 (plus $5 for each extra page of recording). The current deposit required to open a foreclosure is $600.