Public Safety


Creating safer and more resilient communities across Colorado.

Engaged employees working together to provide diverse public safety services to local communities and safeguard lives

The Department of Public Safety was created in 1984 and currently consists of five operating divisions and the Executive Director’s Office. Through its divisions, the Department provides diverse safety services to partner agencies and the public.

The Executive Director’s Office (EDO) supports the divisions by providing central administrative functions, including financial services, human resources, and government affairs. The EDO also includes the Colorado School Safety Resource Center, a clearinghouse for training and information for educators, parents, and students, and the Colorado Integrated Criminal Justice Information System, a multi-agency information sharing service.

The Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) provides law enforcement services to local, state, and federal law enforcement and government agencies, including investigative support, forensic analysis, and the management of criminal justice information.

The Colorado State Patrol (CSP) ensures a safe and secure environment on Colorado highways and throughout the state by providing professional law enforcement services and employing strategies such as high visibility patrols, strict enforcement, maximum resource deployment, and community education.

The Division of Criminal Justice (DCJ) provides services to crime victims, conducts criminal justice research and analysis, and supports the management of community corrections, domestic violence, and sex offenders.

The Division of Fire Prevention and Control (DFPC) safeguards the lives of those that live, work, learn and play in Colorado by reducing fire threats to people, property, and the environment. The DFPC includes programs such as code enforcement, wildfire preparedness and suppression, training and certification, public information, and technical assistance to local governments.

The Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM) includes three offices and multiple programs that provide leadership to Colorado communities to prevent, protect, mitigate, respond, and recover from all-hazard events.

Performance Plans