Community & Support

Lean Project Support & Coordination

 

New to Lean? Watch these 4 videos to lean about Colorado's Lean program!


 

Have a Lean Idea? Fill out this form to get started!

If you are interested in getting another Department's perspective on an upcoming Lean project, need help with facilitation, or want to know the results of a similar project, please use this form. We can provide support in:

  • Lean event facilitation help
  • Lean project advice (identifying potential challenges and opportunities on a specific project)
  • Project scope development
  • Lean project results review

The form results go directly to our Lean Program, and we will match you up with Departments that can provide relevant advice, facilitation expertise, and project results. If you have any questions, please contact our office via gov_ospb@state.co.us or (303)866-3317. 

 


Colorado Lean Fellows

The Governor’s Office is making available the talents of these agency Lean experts to help any team in state government design or facilitate a Lean project.  No cost.  No process or forms required.  Just call or email a Fellow and find out how they can help.  Anyone in state government can call on a Lean Fellow.  

meet HEATHER

Heather Weir Photo.JPGHeather Weir works as the Director of the Office Planning, Partnerships and Improvements in the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) and is CDPHE’s Lean Champion.  Heather’s formal experience with Lean dates back to 2008, where she started working on quality improvement initiatives with Providence Health and Services in Portland, Oregon.  In 2012, Heather completed the Lean Six Sigma Leadership Program at the Community Health Centers of Lane County in Oregon, and she completed the Lean Management System training series through Denver Health the following year. She has led numerous improvement projects and recently facilitated a Quality Improvement project for CDPHE that improved the process for healthcare providers sending and receiving immunization data. This national award-winning project resulted in 100% use of an online testing tool, improved standard work and decreased wait times. Heather grew up in Montana, is a year-round bike commuter, and enjoys spending time outside with her husband, two daughters, and their furry family members (1 dog and 2 cats).  Heather will work as a Lean Exchange Fellow to lead trainings and facilitate projects, as well as help departments develop the ability to track Quality Improvement projects and performance measures.

Heather’s phone: 303.692.3034  Heather’s email: heather.weir@state.co.us

meet TOBIN

image.pngTobin Follenweider is the Chief Operating and Performance Officer of the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and the Lean Champion for the Department of Natural Resources (DNR).  Tobin completed the State of Colorado Lean facilitation training, created a network of Lean advocates at DNR, and served as a presenter/panelist at the annual Performance Management Academy Lean Day in 2015 and 2016.  Over the past five years, Tobin used his training and experiences to impact over fifteen Lean projects that engaged staff, saved time and paper, and improved the internal and external customer experience.  In 2016, Tobin co-facilitated a Lean project on Colorado’s seemingly impenetrable water supply (e.g. reservoir) permitting process.  The project involved the collaboration of federal, state, and local government regulators, water utilities, and key stakeholders to improve the permitting process to save the water utilities years of rework and millions of dollars.  Tobin grew up in Colorado and enjoys mountain biking, skiing, movies, travelling, and scuba diving (he does not enjoy brie or 3 way stop signs).  Tobin will work as a Lean Fellow to facilitate both within and across departments.

Tobin’s phone: 303-866-3454 ext. 3316 Tobin’s email: tobin.follenweider@state.co.us

meet TRACY

Tracy Garceau is a Lead Insurance Analyst at the Division of Insurance (DOI), one of the nine Divisions that make up the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA).  Tracy has been cultivating her Lean and Lean Six Sigma technical skills for over 15 years, in both the public and private sectors. In the private sector, Tracy directed corporate initiatives to improve the customer experience, leading her organization to a 63% reduction in complaints and a 36% increase in satisfaction levels. Since joining the DOI, Tracy designed and delivered LEAN 101 training for all DOI staff and Deputy Commissioners and has facilitated a number of projects, both large and small. Not surprisingly, one of the largest projects involved improving the consumer experience: Tracy led a team that actively sought feedback from consumers regarding their experience with the DOI and then redesigned the complaint handling process based on that feedback.  This not only improved consumer satisfaction measures but also had a positive effect on DOI staff whose efforts and ideas were valued and celebrated. In addition to her love of process improvement and passion for service excellence, Tracy also loves her adopted state of Colorado, her Massachusetts roots, and her special needs boxer, “Cash Money”.  Tracy is also proud and continuously inspired by her two children, a son who is following her footsteps as a successful performance coach and her daughter, a nursing student a CU, committed to helping those in need. As a Lean Fellow, Tracy will bring her enthusiasm and optimism to other Colorado agencies, helping them understand and implement LEAN process improvement and develop and facilitate Lean value-add projects.   

Tracy’s phone: 303-894-7803  Tracy’s email: tracy.garceau@state.co.us


Department Lean Champions

Interested in learning how Lean could help you in your work process? Looking to collaborate with another department on a process? Feel free to contact your department's Lean champion. If you have any trouble, please contact OSPB at gov_ospb@state.co.us | (303)866-3317.

Department Contact Email
Agriculture Kate McRoy kate.mcroy@state.co.us
Corrections Lisa Thayer lisa.thayer@state.co.us
Colorado Energy Office Ryan Manzik ryan.manzik@state.co.us
Education Jennifer Okes okes_j@cde.state.co.us
Health Care Policy & Financing

Chad Anderson

chad.anderson@state.co.us

Higher Education TBD TBD
Human Services Alicia Montoya alicia.montoya@state.co.us
Labor & Employment Tiffany Becker tiffany.becker@state.co.us
Law Jon Reitan jon.reitan@state.co.us
Local Affairs Mike Beery mike.beery@state.co.us
Military and Veterans Affairs Dave Callahan david.callahan@dmva.state.co.us
Natural Resources Tobin Follenweider tobin.follenweider@state.co.us
Office of Economic Development & International Trade David Fishman david.fishman@state.co.us
Office of the Governor Joseph Graves joseph.graves@state.co.us
Office of Information Technology
Kim Chau
Zsofia Rosza
Kim.Chau@state.co.us
zsofia.rozsa@state.co.us
Personnel & Administration TBD TBD
Public Health & Environment Heather Weir heather.weir@state.co.us
Public Safety Beth Roome beth.roome@state.co.us
Regulatory Agencies Tracy Garceau tracy.garceau@state.co.us
Revenue TBD TBD
Transportation Gary Vansuch gary.vansuch@state.co.us

 

Want to learn more about state Lean programs nationwide? Click, here for a list of contact information for Lean leaders in other State governments.