221 W. Victory Way, Ste. 200
Craig, CO 81625
Phone: (970) 824-9104
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Marriage License/Civil Union Information
A marriage license can be purchased in the Clerk and Recorder's Office for $30.00, payable by cash or check. Both applicants must both be present and have valid identification (i.e. Drivers License, Birth Certificate, Picture ID, or Passport). The applicants will also need to provide their Social Security numbers and dates of divorce or death of spouse if applicable. (Please note if a person has been divorced within six months, proof of divorce will be needed). The applicants need to be 18 year of age, or signature of legal guardian (s) is required if under 18 years of age, or a court order if under 16 years of age. The marriage license must be used in the State of Colorado within 35 days of application. The completed certificate must be returned to our office within 63 days after the ceremony.
Application for social security card or changes to social security card download PDF here.
If an applicant does not have a Social Security number, a downloadable affidavit will need to be completed.
Common Law Marriage
A common law marriage is established when the parties mutually consent to be husband and wife. Common law marriage does not require any license, ceremony or documentation to be legal. Parties to a common law marriage are entitled to all rights, privileges and responsibilities of a legal and binding marriage. If the parties need documentation of a marriage, it is recommended that they file a signed, notarized affidavit, attesting to the marriage, with the County Clerk and Recorder's Office in the county where they reside. This affidavit will be filed as a document, not as a marriage record. Only legal divorce or death of one of the parties may terminate common law marriage.
If you have any questions as to whether you qualify as "Common Law", please contact the Colorado Department of Public Health (Information and Statistics) at (303) 692-2088.