Federal Recovery Programs

FEMA and SBA Recovery Programs

FEMA recovery programs are available after a disaster or emergency declaration is requested by the Governor and granted by the President. SBA programs can be triggered though a Presidential declaration, an SBA declaration, or a USDA declaration. Preliminary damage assessments and information on conditions and circumstances are usually required before a declaration is considered. The Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management's Mitigation and Recovery Section coordinates and facilitiates these programs.

Small Business Administration (SBA)

Through its Office of Disaster Assistance (ODA), SBA provides low-interest, long-term loans for physical and economic damage caused by a declared disaster to homeowners, renters, businesses, and private, nonprofit organizations to repair or replace real estate, personal property, machinery and equipment, inventory, and business assets that have been damaged or destroyed in a declared disaster. SBA offers Home and Personal Property Loans, Business Physical Disaster Loans, and Economic Injury Disaster Loans. Criteria for requesting a declaration vary across the programs.

SBA Declarations in Colorado

  • 2013 Flood:  Several Counties across Colorado
  • 2013 Wildfire: El Paso County and Fremont County
  • 2012 Wildfire: Larimer County and El Paso County
  • 2010 Wildfire: Boulder County: (Home and Personal Property Loans)
  • 2008 Wildfire: Crowly County-Ordway: (Home and Personal Property Loans)
  • 2008 Salmonella Incident: Alamosa: (Economic Injury Disaster Loans)

FEMA Public Assistance Program (PA)

FEMA's Public Assistance (PA) Grant Program provides assistance to State, Tribal, and local governments, and certain types of private nonprofit organizations so that communities can quickly respond to and recover from major disasters or emergencies declared by the President. Through the PA Program, FEMA provides supplemental Federal disaster grant assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain private non-profit (PNP) organizations. The PA Program also encourages protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process (known as 406 mitigation). Prior to a declaration, a preliminary damage assessment is usually required.

CFR Title 44, Emergency Management and Assistance

Part 206-Federal Disaster Assistance

Statewide and Countywide Per Capita Impact Indicator, Federal Register

FEMA: 9500 Series Policy Publications

FEMA Presidential Declarations Triggering the PA Program

FEMA Individual Assistance Program (IA)

Per FEMA guidance, disaster assistance is money or direct assistance to individuals, families, and businesses in an area whose property has been damaged or destroyed and whose losses are not covered by insurance or other means. It is meant to help with critical expenses that cannot be covered in other ways. This assistance is not intended to restore damaged property to its condition before the disaster. While some housing assistance funds are available through the Individuals and Households Program,most disaster assistance from the Federal government is in the form of loans administered by the Small Business Administration. Prior to a declaration, a preliminary damage assessment is usually required.

CFR Title 44, Emergency Management and Assistance

Part 206-Federal Disaster Assistance

FEMA Presidential Declarations Triggering the IA Program

  • 2013 Disaster Declaration for Severe Storms, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides: DR-4145 - 20 Counties
  • 2008 Disaster Declaration for Severe Storms and Tornados: DR-1762-Weld and Larimer Counties
  • 2002 Disaster Declaration for Wildfires: DR-1421-Fifty-six counties declared

FEMA Hazard Mitigation Grant  Program (HMGP)

The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) provides grants to States and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration. The purpose is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and to enable mitigation measures to be implemented during the recovery phase. The HMGP is authorized under Section 404 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (known as 404 Mitigation). Funds awarded to the state are calculated based on 15% of eligible expenses during recovery.

CFR Title 44, Emergency Management and Assistance

Presidential Declarations Triggering the HMG Program

  • 2008 Disaster Declaration for Severe Storms and Tornados: DR-1762
  • 2002 Disaster Declaration: Wildfires: DR-1421
  • 2001 Disaster Declaration for Severe Storms: DR-1374