Recorder's Notes by Pamela Bacon, Logan County Clerk and Recorder
Have you ever been out of town and realized your plates are about to expire?
Do you have family members away from home in Colorado at college and the plates on the car is about to expire?
What can you do?
Visit a MV Express Kiosk in one of the participating counties and renew the plates; it is that easy. Logan County Clerk/Motor Vehicle office is participating in this program to assist our citizens that are out of town but need to renew their plates. See below for information on the process. To find KIOSK locations go to www.comvexpress.com
What is Colorado MV Express?
Colorado MV Express is a self-service DMV kiosk that offers a fast and easy way to renew your vehicle registration. It is a blue and yellow machine with touch-screen technology that looks similar to an ATM. Simply scan the barcode on your renewal postcard or type your license plate number on the touch-screen. The machine will accept your payment and print your registration and license plate tabs on the spot!
Who can use the kiosks?
If you are a resident with a registered vehicle in a participating county, you may use any CO MV Express kiosk in the state.
Participating counties include:
- Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Custer, Dolores, Douglas, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Jefferson, Kit Carson, La Plata, Larimer, Logan, Montezuma, Mesa, Pueblo, Routt, Teller, Weld, Yuma.
When can I renew at a kiosk?
You can renew at a kiosk any time, starting in the month prior to your expiration month. By law, a late fee of $25 per month and back ownership taxes will be assessed if you renew after your grace period (the month following your date of expiration) has expired.
Will I pay a fee to use the kiosk?
In addition to your renewal cost, there is a service fee for every vehicle renewed at the kiosk—$3.95 at kiosks in King Soopers and $3.00 at kiosks in all other locations. Additionally, there is a 2.15 - 2.3% fee to pay via credit or debit card, or a $0.50 fee to pay via check. There is no additional charge for cash payments (where available).
If you choose to renew online, there is a $1 check fee and similar credit/debit card fee. If you choose to renew inside a motor vehicle office at the counter, there is no check fee, but similar credit/debit card fees apply.
How can I pay?
Cash, check, credit or debit card are accepted at most locations. Only one method of payment is allowed per transaction.
What types of license plates can be renewed at a kiosk?
If you live in a participating county, you can use a kiosk to renew personal automobiles, pickup trucks, motorcycles, motor homes, utility trailers, and camper trailers. It will NOT renew a collector, commercial fleet, dealer, government or taxi/livery vehicle; tow truck; or any disabled veteran specialty license plates.
How does the kiosk work?
Simply scan the barcode on your vehicle registration renewal postcard or use the touch-screen to type in your license plate number. Follow the instructions to review your vehicle record, and pay taxes and fees. The machine will print your receipt, registration and tabs on the spot. Just grab your documents and go!
What if I need proof of auto insurance?
Please wait 2-4 days after updating your auto insurance to renew at the kiosk. This allows time for your insurance to provide updated information to our statewide vehicle registration system. The kiosk cannot accept paper proof. Your renewal postcard will indicate if you need proof of insurance.
Can the kiosk do other transactions?
No, the kiosk will only process a renewal. It cannot issue replacement tabs or change the name or address on your motor vehicle registration. Please visit your local Motor Vehicle office for this service.
Who do I contact with questions about my transaction?
Please call (866) 955-5258 with questions about transactions at a kiosk.
The Election and Recording Department can be reached at 522-1544 for voter and election questions or recording information. The Motor Vehicle Department can be reached at 522-1158 for license plates/renewals or titling a vehicle. You can also reach our office by email at firstname.lastname@example.org . Like us on Facebook at Logan County Elections/MotorVehicle/Recording!