Vital Statistics

The cost for death certificates is $20.00 for the first copy and $13.00 for additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time.

The Vital Statistics Office maintains birth and death records. The Las Animas and Huerfano Counties Offices have birth and death records from 1910 and forward. These certificates are certified legal documents and can be used for passports, traveling, school registration and driver’s licenses etc.

Birth Certificates can be issued for anyone born in the State of Colorado.

For 1910 - 1975 death records, contact the county in which the death occurred or the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Vital Statistics Section in Denver. Death certificates can be obtained in our county throughout the State of Colorado from 1976 - present. The State just needs a 72 hour notice to add the record, allowing us to issue the certificate electronically.

For complete detailed requirements to obtain a birth or death certificate click on your application choice. The Acceptable Identification List and Proof of Relationship requirements are listed on the birth and death application.

Vital records, including birth, death, adoption, marriage and divorce, are confidential per Colorado state statute (C.R.S. 25-2-117). As a result, Colorado vital records are not public records and therefore not searchable online. Vital records can only be released to those who are eligible. See eligibility and identification criteria.

Vital Record Section (Trinidad Office)
412 Benedicta Ave
Trinidad, CO 81082
Phone: (719) 846-2213
Fax: (719) 846-4472

Vital Records Section (Walsenburg Office)
119 E. 5th Street
Walsenburg, CO 81082
Phone: (719) 738-2650
Fax: (719) 738-2653

Office Hours
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday—Friday

Please note: Same-day service available until 4:00 p.m.

Links

Resources

Birth Certificate Application
Birth Certificate Lost Form
CDPHE Spanish Birth Certificate
Birth Certificates May Be Issued To
Death Certificate Application
CDPHE Spanish Death Certificate
Death Certificate May Be Issued To

Data and Statistics

Visit the Center for Health and Environmental Data or contact cdphe.healthstatistics@state.co.us for more information on obtaining vital records data for research purposes and other data products.

Other Resources

County vital records offices for birth and death records.
County clerk and recorder's offices for marriage records.
District court clerks for divorce, separation or annulment records.
Colorado State Archive for a wide range of historical data.