Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a guidance and advisory body, made up of five Town residents who are appointed by the Town Board for four (4) year terms. The Planning Commission will review, study and recommend approval or denial to the Town Board of Trustees on matters of planning and all applications dealing with zoning, rezoning, annexation and subdivisions, and will hear and recommend to the Town Board of Trustees on special and public use permits.  This commission is vital to the continued growth of our fair town!  

If you are interested in serving on the Planning Commission, please fill out an application.  The Planning Commission is currently seeking an Alternate Commissioner.  To qualify as a Planning Commissioner, you must be 18 years of age and a current resident of Ignacio for at least one year.  You can print an application from the Forms Page of this website.  If you have questions or would like more information, please contact Dan Naiman, Community Development Coordinator, at 970-563-9494 or email him (

The Planning Commission meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Abel F. Atencio Community Room.

Current Commissioners

Chair - Pete Vigil, term expires 2018
Vice Chair - Gina Schulz, term expires 2019
Commissioner - William Baird, term expires 2018
Commissioner -Teresa Campbell, term expires 2019
Commissioner - Bernadette Lopez, term expires 2020
Alternate Commissioner - Clark Craig, term expires 2018
Alternate Commissioner - Justin Manley, term expires 2018
Town Board Representative - Dixie Melton
Chamber of Commerce Representative - Vacant