Commission Members



Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa, Chair

Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa is a Colorado Native.  She has been an attorney for over 20 years, currently in private practice.  Ms. Krupa practices primarily in the areas of criminal defense, white collar and civil litigation, securities law and internal investigations, professional conduct and attorney admissions to Colorado.  She graduated from the University of Denver, Sturm College of Law in 1994, served a judicial clerkship and then worked for the Colorado State Public Defender Office providing criminal defense for indigent clients.  Ms. Krupa also worked for the Federal Defender for the District of Colorado.  Ms. Krupa then worked as a Trial Attorney for the Denver Regional Office of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission conducting trials and administrative proceedings throughout the United States.  Ms. Krupa also served as Assistant Regulation Counsel for the Colorado Supreme Court Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel and Faculty Member for National Institute for Trial Advocacy.  She has been teaching NITA since 2009 in regional, public service and custom programs including the Program Director for the NITA/National Organization of Bar Counsel Advanced Trial Advocates Training.

Ms. Krupa has argued before courts in the state, appellate and federal levels.  She has been active in many bar associations including the Hispanic National Bar and Colorado Hispanic Bar Association, for which she served as Vice President and President.  She has been appointed to and served on the Colorado Access to Justice Commission, the Commission on Judicial Discipline, the Identity Theft and Financial Fraud Board, the Editorial Board of the ABA/BNA Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct, the Colorado State Supreme Court Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee, and the Western Regional Advisory Board for the United States Commission on Civil Rights.  She is a frequent lecturer at CLE programs, was an adjunct professor teaching trial advocacy and coached the American Association for Justice mock trial team for the University of Denver, Sturm College of Law.

back to top

William J. Leone, Vice-Chair

William J. Leone was first appointed to the Commission by Governor John L. Hickenlooper for a term commencing July 1, 2013, and was subsequently reappointed by the Senate for a term commencing July 1, 2017. Commissioner Leone is currently Head of Litigation and a Partner at Norton Rose Fulbright in Denver (formerly known as Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.) and was also a Partner at Faegre & Benson LLP. He served as the United States Attorney for the District of Colorado from 2004 to 2006, and was the First Assistant United States Attorney for three years before his appointment as United States Attorney. Prior to his work at the United States Attorney’s Office, Commissioner Leone was in private practice in Denver.

A native Coloradoan, Commissioner Leone is a graduate of Colorado State University, where he was Phi Beta Kappa, as well as the University of Colorado School of Law. In law school, he was a member of the Law Review and Order of the Coif. He has received numerous awards and recognition for his work as an attorney. He is a member of the Colorado Bar Association, the Adams County Bar Association, and the Board of the National Association of Former U.S. Attorneys.

back to top

Debra Johnson, Commissioner

[This section will be updated soon.]

back to top

Yeulin V. Willett, Commissioner

Yeulin V. Willett graduated at the top of his classes at C.U. (both Business and Law).  He practiced law for over 30 years, being based out of Grand Junction but litigating, trying, and mediating cases all over the state, appearing in almost every judicial district, receiving the highest ratings and honors.  As of 2014, Yeulin has taken "of counsel" status with his law firm.  As a State Representative for four years at the Capitol, his effectiveness continued, having passed dozens of bipartisan bills into law, being appointed to some of the most important positions, rising in leadership, and receiving numerous prestigious legislative awards.  As a negotiator and advocate he was the Chairman of the Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee and served on the Litigation Council of the Colorado Bar Association, he was previously a panelist of the American Arbitration Association, and he was a Master Advocate of the National Institute of Trial Advocacy.  Over the years, he has also served as an expert witness, litigation consultant, three-panel arbitrator, settlement conference neutral and a private judge.  He has served in leadership roles for numerous charitable and non-profit organizations.  Yeulin has led continuing education seminars in civil litigation and ADR.  He also has taught various upper-level courses at both Colorado Mesa University and Colorado Christian University.  He and his wife of 35 years, Rose, are the proud parents of four successfully launched children.  Yeulin’s father practiced law on the West Slope for over 20 years and his mother was a municipal judge.  Together with his family, Yeulin is an active athlete and outdoorsman.

back to top

[Vacant], Commissioner

[The local government official or employee commissioner seat is currently vacant.  Those interested in serving in this position, please see the announcement.]

back to top