Lodging Tax Board

Lodging Tax Board Members

  • Michael Murphy - Business owner, Chair
  • Mary Nettleton - Member at Large
  • Jacqui Wonnacott - LC/HC Chamber of Commerce, Secretary
  • Ben Hake - Lake City DIRT
  • Linda Payne - Elkhorn RV Park, Lodging owner
  • Carolyn Hull - Financial Specialist, Vice Chair
  • Doug Hamel - Marketing Board Representative

Secretary: Sandy Hines


The voters of Hinsdale County authorized the levy of a lodging tax, pursuant to CRS 30-11-107.5 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, on November 3, 1992, and the Board of County Commissioners passed a resolution to establish a Lodging Tax Panel in Hinsdale County in January 20, 1993 for the purpose of marketing and advertising tourism in Hinsdale County. This Board of 7 members all must be Hinsdale County residents. The Board consists of the President of the Lake City Chamber of Commerce, a DIRT Representative, a member of the Marketing Committee, one lodge owner, one business owner, one representative of a local financial institution and one registered voter. Meetings will be held quarterly,

Lodging Tax Fund Grants

All revenue collected from the lodging tax is credited to a special fund designated as the Hinsdale County Lodging Tax Fund, and can be used only to advertise and market tourism in accordance with law, for the benefit of those unincorporated areas and municipalities from which the lodging tax originates.

Local organizations which participate in marketing activities may request lodging tax funds on an annual basis. Applications for lodging tax funds are accepted each November, with notification by advertisement in the Lake City Silver World or on Hinsdale County Facebook page in October. All applications are reviewed by the Lodging Tax Board in a public meeting in December of each year. For more information, contact the Hinsdale County Administrative Assistant at 970-944-2225.

Lodging Tax Funds Application

Lodging Tax Board Policies

Lodging Tax Bylaws