Temporary Out of State Dealers

Statutes in general related to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board can be found by looking for Title 44, Article 20, Lexis Nexis

Regulations in general related to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board can be found here:

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/NumericalCCRDocList.do?deptID=19&deptName=200%20Department%20of%20Revenue&agencyID=77&agencyName=205%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Dealer%20Board

  • C.R.S. 44-20-102 (18), (26), and (28)  - Definitions
  • C.R.S. 44-20-402 (12), (20) and (21)  - Definitions
  • C.R.S. 44-20-118 - Fingerprinting Requirement
  • C.R.S. 44-20-417 - Fingerprinting Requirement

44-20-118 (8)(a) with the submission of an application for any license issued under this part 1, each applicant shall submit a complete set of fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation or the Auto industry Division for the purpose of conducting fingerprint-based criminal history record checks. The Colorado Bureau of Investigation shall forward the fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of conducting fingerprint-based criminal history record checks. The Board or the Executive Director shall use the information resulting from the fingerprint-based criminal history record check to investigate and determine whether an applicant is qualified to be licensed. The Board or the Executive Director may verify the information an applicant is required to submit. The applicant shall pay the costs associated with the fingerprint-based criminal history record check to the Colorado bureau of Investigation.

44-20-417(8) (a) with the submission of an application for any license issued under this part 4, each applicant shall submit a complete set of fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation or the Auto industry Division for the purpose of conducting fingerprint-based criminal history record checks. The Colorado Bureau of Investigation shall forward the fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of conducting fingerprint-based criminal history record checks. The board or the Executive Director shall use the information resulting from the fingerprint-based criminal history record check to investigate and determine whether an applicant is qualified to be licensed. The Board or the Executive Director may verify the information an applicant is required to submit. The applicant shall pay the costs associated with the fingerprint-based criminal history record check to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.

Out of state dealers, who wish to sell or negotiate the sale of motor vehicle/Powersports vehicles including trailers at special events, can apply for a Temporary Out of State Dealer license. There are two types of events.

  • Board Regulated Events - These events are limited by Dealer Board Regulation to the National Western Stock Show, Colorado State Fair and the annual Denver RV, Sports, Boat & Travel show {Reference 44-20-109 (2) C.R.S.}.  A single application may be used to apply for one, two or three events.
  • Other Special Sales Events - Applicants must petition the Dealer Board to ask for permission to apply for a Temporary Out of State Dealer License. The petition must be submitted ninety (90) days prior to the event
    •  The Auto Industry Division can only present the petition to the Dealer Board on the 3rd Tuesday of each month.
    • An applicant may only submit an application to the Auto Industry Division after approval from the Dealer Board has been obtained.

Review the requirements below to determine if you qualify for a Temporary Out of State Dealer license:

Filing Deadline - The completed application, required attachments, bond, and license fee are due 45 days prior to the event

Please be advised that the Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (Board) is the State licensing authority for Dealer/Wholesaler licenses. The Board has statutory authority to issue or deny license applicants.

The following information is being provided to ensure your application is not missing any required documentation. The Auto Industry Division strongly recommends that you use this information to aid you in completing the application.  Should you need additional forms or need to verify the correct fee you may download all forms from our web site: www.Colorado.gov/Revenue/AID

All documents submitted shall be on 8.5” x 11” size paper. Do not submit double sided copies. Do not submit Legal size copies.

  • Dealer’s State License - Submit a copy of the State Dealer License where the applicant is located and a letter from the licensing authority stating the license is in good standing.
  • Application (DR 2131) - Complete all requested information sign and date.
  • Sales Tax License  - Conducting retail sales in Colorado at a single or multiple event requires a special “single” or “multiple” event sales tax license.. Provide a photocopy of Colorado Sales Tax Withholding Account Application (CR 0100AP). A Colorado sales tax account number or a copy of the sales tax license must be provided as well as proof of trade name registration.
  • Bond - Dealers - $50,000 surety bond valid for the sale dated on any one, two, or three events, is required. 
    • $5,000 - Small Trailer Dealers (weighing less than 2000 pounds)
    • The start and end dates of the bond must be the same as the beginning and ending dates of the event.
    • Multiple bonds may be issued to cover more than one event; or the start and end dates must include all events.
    • Any bonding company writing the bond must be licensed to do business in the state of Colorado.
    • Surety Bond with FULL LEGAL NAME and DBA must appear on the “principal line,” which needs to be signed by an owner or a partner, a corporate officer or LLC member. For Example, if your dealership is a/an:
    • Individual: John T. Doe, DBA: Doe Motors
    • Partnership: John T. Doe and Jane Z. Doe, DBA: Doe Motors
    • Corporation: Vehicles, Inc., DBA: Doe Motors
    • LLC: Vehicles, LLC., DBA: Doe Motors, LLC
  • Verification of Fingerprints & Background Check - Requirements apply to all owners AND employees of the applicant who will be selling at the event.
    • Provide a receipt or confirmation from a 3rd party vendor OR two (2) fingerprint cards AND the Verification of Fingerprints form (DR 2197). See the Verification of Fingerprints page for requirements that must be met by all applicants. A background check will be done on every applicant. If the applicant has ever been convicted of or pled no contest to any felony or misdemeanor crime supporting court documents must be included with the application.
  • Secure Verifiable Identification - A photocopy of an appropriate identification such as a Colorado Driver’s License for the applicant (unless the applicant is a corporation or LLC) and all people who will be selling at the event. Refer to the SVID Matrix form.
  • Affidavit - Restrictions on Public Benefits (DR 4679) - This form must be filled out by applicant (unless the applicant is a corporation or LLC), and all people who will be selling at the event.
  • Manufacturer Authorization for New Vehicle Sales - A copy of the letter from the manufacturer authorizing the sale of their new motor vehicle/Powersports vehicles must be provided with the application. For any new motor vehicle/Powersports vehicle sales, the manufacturer of such vehicles must also be licensed in Colorado. To determine the manufacturer’s license status, request a copy of its current Colorado license or contact the Auto Industry Division.
  • Fees - Check should be made payable to the Department of Revenue. All fees are subject to change July 1st of every year.
  • MCO’S and Titles - Any motor vehicle sold in Colorado, including trailers, must be transferred on a title or a manufacturer’s certificate of origin (MCO). Any vehicle sold on a title is considered “used” and cannot be represented to the consumer as “new”.
  • Sales Transaction Paperwork - Colorado Consumers must be furnished with copies of any documents they sign. The dealer must furnish the consumer with a properly assigned title or MCO a copy of the Colorado temporary license, and the state sales tax receipt (DR 0024). The consumer must attach a copy of the temporary license and the DR0024 to the title or MCO, when application is made at the local county clerk’s office. The dealer must maintain a copy of all paperwork signed by the consumer.
  • Temporary Registration Permits - Colorado permits are valid for 60 days. Information on how to obtain Colorado temporary permits will be provided when the application for a Temporary Out of State Dealer license is approved by the Dealer Board.
  • Written Correspondence - If you have anything you wish the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board to take into account or need to explain any licensing character, criminal character, or financial character issues please provide it with the application. 

Manufacturers - In order to display vehicles in Colorado, the Manufacturer must be licensed in Colorado. A Manufacturer cannot sell to the public.

Failure to disclose any licensing character, criminal - character, or financial character issues in writing with the application is considered a material misstatement and may result in your license being denied. When in doubt provide an explanation. NOTE: During the background investigation, additional information may be requested/required. If you would like to authorize the Background Investigator to discuss your application with anyone other than yourself, or other co-applicants, please provide a signed authorization with your application packet.

ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS

If you have additional questions, call our main number: 303-205-5604 or e-mail your question to: dor_dealers@state.co.us