Support License - Racing

GENERAL INFORMATION:

  • The State of Colorado requires a Support Occupational License issued by the Division of Racing Events in order to race in Colorado.
  • Support Occupational Licenses are valid for three years.
    • Between renewal years, licensees will need to submit a validation card (DR 9020) to the Division of Racing every year.
      • To expedite the validation process, The Division of Racing recommends submitting validation cards to the Division Offices prior to your arrival at Arapahoe Park.​​

HOW TO GET A LICENSE: 

  • Obtain a Support Occupational License by completing and submitting the required information and forms (found below) to the Division of Racing Events at 1707 Cole Blvd. Suite 350, Lakewood, CO 80401.
  • Renewal license applications are available online, in person at Arapahoe Park, or by submitting the required information and forms to the Division of Racing Events offices.
    • PLEASE NOTE: the Division of Racing Events performs a background check for each licensee, which may have a completion time of up to 1 week. We recommend submitting applications and renewals to our Division Offices prior to your arrival at Arapahoe Park. This may help expedite the process in the Licensing Office on grounds.  

         ​​CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR LICENSE HERE 

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION:

    Support Occupational License Application - Racing
          **supervisor signature required on Page 3 if job duties are as follows: Assistant Mutuel Manager, Assistant Racing Secretary, Assistant Starter, Assistant Trainer, Mutuel Employee, Money Room Manager, OTB Manager, Security Guard, Video Operator, Tote Technician, Video Operator. 

    Lawful Presence Affidavit - Racing

    Duplicate / Additional Badge Application - Racing

    Change of Name / Address Form - Racing

    Fingerprints 
     **New licenses:  You must submit valid fingerprints along with your application.  
     **Renewal licenses: If fingerprints are 6 years or older, you must be re-fingerprinted.

     Validation Card - Racing- required every year between 3-year renewal application periods.

FEES:

Original Application Fee: $75
Renewal Application Fee: $25 
Support Renewal Application with fingerprints: $65  

Licenses are valid for three (3) years.

WHO NEEDS A SUPPORT LICENSE?

Apprentice Jockey

Hub Supervisor Owner/Trainer

Assistant Mutuel Manager

Identifier Paddock Judge

Assistant Racing Secretary

Jockey Placing Judge

Assistant Starter

Jockey Agent Private Veterinarian

Assistant Trainer

Lure Operator Security Guard

Authorized Agent

Money Room Manager Starter

Chartwriter

Mutuel Employee Tote Technician

Clerk of Scale

OTB Manager Trainer

Director of Simulcasting

Owner Video Operator

Horse Person’s Bookkeeper

Owner/Assistant Trainer  

 

Note: A Support Occupational Racing license is considered a public benefit. Under Colorado law, persons applying for a public benefit must establish lawful presence in the United States by providing certain types of identification and submitting a signed affidavit. The Lawful Presence Affidavit must accompany the Support Occupational License Application form. For more information on lawful presence requirements, visit the main Department of Revenue website.