Jump to navigation
The Division of Gaming and the Gaming Commission issue six types of licenses for individuals and businesses that meet our licensing requirements. Please review the list of Automatic Disqualifiers prior to applying for a license.
NOTICE: The License Application Form is an official document. If you provide false information on your gaming license application and/or do not disclose all information the application asks, your license is subject to denial or revocation, and you may be subject to criminal prosecution. The Division of Gaming will conduct a complete background investigation and will check all sources of information. Applicants are advised that it is better to disclose all information than face denial, revocation or criminal prosecution.
If you need clarification of any of the above questions, please contact the Investigations Section at any of the three Division of Gaming offices.
Automatic Disqualifiers last revised on February 3, 2014
License Fees (2-Year License)
Effective July 1, 2015, License Fees increased. Please refer to the following table for fees:
* Type 1 applicants have six or fewer persons with a 5 percent or more interest in the license, all of whom live in Colorado. All others are Type 2 applicants.
* The Division of Gaming collects a background deposit to cover the costs of conducting a thorough background check. The Division bills against this deposit at a rate of $70 per hour and also charges for any travel or out-of-pocket expenses. Any remaining moneys at the end of the background investigation are refunded to the applicant. The hourly rate is subject to annual review and change on July 1.
Casino employees, including but not limited to: dealers, cashiers, change persons, accounting, prop players, count and drop team, slot techs and security.
Support License Application Forms
Note: A support gaming license is considered a public benefit. Under Colorado law, persons applying for a public benefit must establish lawful presence in the United States by providing certain types of identification and submitting a signed affidavit. The support application contains the necessary forms to establish lawful presence. For more information on lawful presence requirements, visit the main Department of Revenue web site.
Key: Any executive, employee, or agent of a business licensee, who while physically working in a casino, has the power to exercise a significant influence over decisions affecting any part of the business.
Associated Person: Any stockholder holding five percent or greater interest in a gaming licensee, or any officer or director, who does not act as a Key executive, employee or agent.
Associated Key: Any stockholder holding five percent or greater interest in a gaming licensee, or any officer or director, who also acts as a Key executive, employee or agent while physically working in a casino.
Note: New key applications are generally completed within 60-90 days.
Note: A key gaming license is considered a public benefit. Under Colorado law, persons applying for a public benefit must establish lawful presence in the United States by providing certain types of identification and submitting a signed affidavit. The original key application contains the affidavit, and the identification will be obtained during the background process. The renewal application contains the necessary forms to establish lawful presence. For more information on lawful presence requirements, visit the main Department of Revenue web site.
Note: New business applications can take 6 months to a year or more to complete, depending upon the complexity of the investigation and the workload of the Division's background staff.
No license is required of any other suppliers of goods to casinos, although the Division of Gaming reserves the right to subject any business or individual supplying goods to a casino to a finding of suitability.
Business License Application Forms
These notification forms are for the Division of Gaming ONLY. They DO NOT apply to the Marijuana, Liquor, or Racing Divisions.
UPDATED PROCESS FOR ISSUING INDIVIDUAL GAMING LICENSES
The Division of Gaming updated its licensing process for certain licenses as of February 17, 2012. The revised process impacts those licensees who are out of the state of Colorado.
Because a Colorado gaming license is considered a public benefit, evidence of lawful presence must be provided and verified pursuant to Article 72.1 of Colorado Revised Statutes, also known as the Secure and Verifiable Identity Document Act. To ensure our agency’s compliance with this Act, an applicant is required to submit a photocopy of the required form(s) of identification with the license application. The individual is required to present himself/herself in person at one of the Division of Gaming offices and bring the original document with him/her before the license can be issued and before the individual can obtain his/her license ID badge and before the individual can exercise any of the privileges granted under such license.
Effective February 17, 2012, out of state applicants have another option in lieu of presenting themselves in person. When completing the application, applicants may have their identification (the same identification photocopied and submitted with the application) verified by law enforcement when the Verification of Fingerprints form in the application is completed. This verification must be completed by law enforcement during the fingerprinting process. If it is not, applicants must present themselves in person as detailed above.
Renewal applicants (excluding expired renewals) will be allowed to submit their applications without completing either process since their identification has already been verified.
If you have any questions about this process, please contact the Division of Gaming’s Agent in Charge, John Madruga at 303.205.1337.