Support License - Racing

The State of Colorado requires a Support Occupational License issued by the Division of Racing Events in order to race in Colorado.  Support Occupational Licenses are valid for three years.  Between renewal years, licensees will need to submit to the Division of Racing a validation card (DR 9020) every year.  

Applicants may obtain a Support Occupational License by completing and submitting the required information and forms to the Division of Racing Events.  For renewal licenses, applications for renewals are now also available online as well as in person by submitting the required information to the Division of Racing Events offices.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION:


FEES:

Original Application Fee: $75
Renewal Application Fee: $25 
Support Renewal Application with fingerprints: $65  

Licenses are valid for three (3) years.

 

WHO NEEDS A SUPPORT LICENSE?

Apprentice Jockey

Hub Supervisor Owner/Trainer

Assistant Mutuel Manager

Identifier Paddock Judge

Assistant Racing Secretary

Jockey Placing Judge

Assistant Starter

Jockey Agent Private Veterinarian

Assistant Trainer

Lure Operator Security Guard

Authorized Agent

Money Room Manager Starter

Chartwriter

Mutuel Employee Tote Technician

Clerk of Scale

OTB Manager Trainer

Director of Simulcasting

Owner Video Operator

Horse Person’s Bookkeeper

Owner/Assistant Trainer  

 

Note: A Support Occupational Racing license is considered a public benefit. Under Colorado law, persons applying for a public benefit must establish lawful presence in the United States by providing certain types of identification and submitting a signed affidavit. The Lawful Presence Affidavit must accompany the Support Occupational License Application form. For more information on lawful presence requirements, visit the main Department of Revenue website.