Jump to navigation
The MED Occupational License allows the holder to work within MED licensed Medical and Retail Marijuana facilities or for vendors that provide services to MED Medical and Retail Marijuana business licensees.
There are two types of MED Occupational Licenses:
Key Employee: employees that make operational or management decisions that directly impact the business. An example of such an employee is a master grower that determines what or how much of a particular strain to produce.
Application fee $250
Support Employee: employees that work in the business but do not make operational decisions. An example of such an employee would be a budtender - the majority of occupational license holders are in this category.
Application fee $75
Upgrade: your Support Occupational License to a Key Occupational License you must complete an occupational license application. Then make an appointment at one of the MED offices listed below to come and submit your application. Please note that you cannot upgrade your license with an occupational license renewal application, you must submit an occupational license application. Be Aware that you MUST bring in your current Support Occupational License for surrender.
You have two options in regard to paying for the upgrade of your license – you may pay to upgrade your current Support license and keep your current expiration date ($203.65) or you may pay the full Key occupational license application fee ($250.00) and receive a new expiration date two years from the new issue date - if your application is approved.
Both license types are good for two years from the date on which the license badge is issued.
Before You Apply, be aware that having a MED Occupational License and working within the Medical or Retail Marijuana Industry may have adverse Federal Immigration consequences.
If you are interested in obtaining a MED Occupational License please download the Occupational License Application and review it carefully to ensure you are eligible to hold this type of MED license.
All NEW occupational license applicants must make an appointment to come into a MED office to submit their application, have their fingerprints taken and pose for a photo that will be placed on their occupational license badge - please note that we are unable to accommodate NEW Occupational Applications on a Walk-Ins basis.
Lakewood is currently scheduling appointments on or after October 17th - If applicants are more than thirty (30) minutes late to their scheduled appointment they will be required to reschedule.
Please include the following information in your email:
Please note that this office cannot accept cash payments.
Colorado Springs is currently scheduling appointments on or after November 1st.
Grand Junction is currently scheduling appointments on or after September 24th.
Longmont is currently scheduling appointments on or after October 14th.
Be on time!
Bring a hard copy of your completed application, printed singled sided. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
Any supporting documentation to prove you are eligible for this license (for example, official documentation of the final disposition regarding any felony conviction)
A Colorado Drivers License or Identification Card (ID)
The full application fee in cash -exact change only, money order, credit card or check (no third-party checks) - the MED Lakewood office is the only MED office able to accept cash payments.
Once your application has been accepted and you pass the background check, your badge will be mailed to their home address of record - usually within three to four working days.
Be aware that by applying for an occupational license you have agreed that if your application is approved, you will keep the MED informed of any change of your home address and other contact information. You can do this via email at firstname.lastname@example.org (Please note that there is an underscore between Dor and med: email@example.com).
Occupational License Renewal Information