The Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission is a five-member regulatory body appointed by the Governor.  By statute, the Commission is responsible for promulgating all the rules and regulations governing limited gaming in Colorado, including the establishment of the gaming tax rate.  The Commission also has final authority over all gaming licenses issued in the state.  By law, the Commission is made up of members from different professional, political and geographic backgrounds.  The Commission must include the following:

  • A corporate manager with five years of business experience
  • An attorney with experience in regulatory law
  • A registered voter
  • A law enforcement official
  • A Certified Public Accountant with knowledge of corporate finance

In addition, no more than three Commissioners can be from the same political party and no more than one Commissioner can be from the same federal congressional district.  All appointments to the Commission must be confirmed by the State Senate.  Commissioners serve four-year terms, and no Commissioner can serve more than two consecutive terms.  

The Department of Revenue prepares and administers the Division of Gaming budget. As part of the annual budget process, the Commission also reviews and approves the Division of Gaming budget and allocates money to other State departments, such as the Department of Public Safety, to ensure that the gaming industry is adequately regulated and its patrons protected.  

The Commission is required by law to meet at least monthly.


The Commission generally meets the third Thursday of the month at 9:15 a.m. for the Executive session and the Public session begins around 9:30 a.m., unless otherwise noted.  Dates, times and locations are subject to change. ​

  • Thursday, January 16, 2020 - Golden
  • Thursday, February 20, 2020 - Golden
  • Thursday, March 5, 2020 - Golden *Special Meeting: Sports Betting License Approvals*
  • Thursday, March 19, 2020 - Golden 
  • Thursday, April 2, 2020 - *Special Meeting: Sports Betting License Approvals"
  • Thursday, April 16, 2020 - Golden
  • Thursday, May 21, 2020 - Golden
  • Thursday, June 18, 2020 - Golden
  • Thursday, July 16, 2020 - Golden -Video Conference Link to be posted in the coming days
  • Wednesday, August 26, 2020 - Golden
  • Thursday, September 17, 2020 - Cripple Creek
  • Thursday, October 15, 2020 - Central City
  • Thursday, November 19, 2020 - Golden
  • Thursday, December 17, 2020 - Golden


Upcoming Meeting Agenda 

          April 2, 2020 UPDATED 4/1/2020

Previous Meeting Agenda

          March 19, 2020


Current Year Minutes

January 2020 I February 2020 I March 5, 2020 I March 19, 2020



  • Kristen Blessman, Chair - Business Management for at least 5 years (First Term Expires July 1, 2021)
  • Tim Carlson, Commissioner - Law Enforcement Member (First Term Expires July 1, 2021)
  • Shawn Coleman, Commissioner - Registered Voter Member (First Term Expires July 1, 2020)
  • Richard NathanCommissioner - Attorney, Regulatory Law (First Term Expires July 1, 2023)
  • Justin DavisCommissioner - Certified Public Accountant (First Term Expires July 1, 2023)