License Class Change - Auto Industry Division

REQUIREMENTS

License Class applications are governed by the following Laws & Regulations. 

Statutes in general related to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board can be found by looking for Title 44, Article 20, Lexis Nexis

Regulations in general related to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board can be found here:

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/NumericalCCRDocList.do?deptID=19&deptName=200%20Department%20of%20Revenue&agencyID=77&agencyName=205%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Dealer%20Board

  • C.R.S. 44-20-108 - Classes of License
  • C.R.S. 44-20-408 - Classes of License
  • C.R.S. 44-20-102 (18)(22)(26(28)  - Definitions
  • C.R.S. 44-20-402 (12)(17)(20)(21) - Definitions
  • C.R.S. 44-20-119 (1)- Notice of Change of Address
  • C.R.S. 44-20-418 (1) - Notice of Change of Address
  • C.R.S. 44-20-104 (3)(j) - Signage Requirements
  • Regulation 44-20-104 (3)(j) - Signage Requirements
  • C.R.S. 44-20-104 (1)(j) - Signage Requirements
  • Regulation 44-20-404 (1)(j) - Signage Requirements
  • C.R.S. 44-20-104 (3)(h) - Application Requirements
  • Regulation 44-20-404 (3)(h) - Application Requirements
  • C.R.S 44-20-404 (2)(b) - Application Requirements
  • Regulation 44-20-404(2)(b) - Application Requirements
  • C.R.S. 44-20-120 - Principle Place of Business Requirements
  • Regulation 44-20-120 (1) - Principle Place of Business Requirements
  • C.R.S. 44-20-419 - Principle Place of Business Requirements
  • Regulation 44-20-419 (1) - Principle Place of Business

FORMS REQUIRED

DR 2658 – License Class Change Application

DR 2114 – Statement of Financial Condition

DR 2109-B - Addendum to Original Application

  • All Dealers must immediately notify the board if they desire to change their class of license.
  • The form must be signed by an: Owner, Partner, LLC Member/Manager, or Corporate Officer (president, vice president, secretary or treasurer). The title of the person signing the form must be provided and form must be dated.
  • Retail Dealers may not have the word “wholesale” in their DBA.
  • If you are changing your license class and location at the same time, only a License Class Change Application form is required.
  • Any change of class to a franchise Dealer requires a letter from the Manufacturer duly licensed in Colorado. The DBA on the franchise letter must be the same as the dealer’s licensed name. 
  • Failure to complete all sections of the application may result in a rejection or delay in processing.
  • REMINDER: You may not operate a location until you receive your license from the Auto Industry Division.
 
*Note this form can also be found in the Forms and Publications section of this website.
 

FEE REQUIRED

See current fiscal year Fee Schedule
Checks should be made to: Colorado Department of Revenue
  • If you are changing your license class and location at the same time, only a change of class fee is required.
 
ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS

If you have additional questions, call our main number: 303-205-5604 or e-mail your question to: dor_dealers@state.co.us