Key License - Racing

GENERAL INFORMATION:

  • The State of Colorado requires a Key Occupational License issued by the Division of Racing Events to work in the racing industry in Colorado. 
  • Key Occupational Licenses are valid for three years. 
    • Between renewal years, licensees will need to submit to the Division of Racing a validation card (DR 9020) every year.  
      • To expedite the validation process, The Division of Racing recommends submitting validation cards to the Division Offices prior to your arrival at Arapahoe Park.

HOW TO GET A LICENSE:

  • Applicants may obtain a Key Occupational License by completing and submitting the required information and forms (found below) to the Division of Racing Events. 
  • Renewal license applications are available in person at Arapahoe Park (during the race meet) and by submitting the required information to the Division of Racing Events offices.
 
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS:
FEES:
 
Application Fee: $225
Renewal Application Fee: $75
Licenses are valid for three (3) years.
 
 
WHO NEEDS A KEY OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE?
 
Assistant General Manager Corporate Director Mutuel Manager
Association Judge Corporate Officer Racing Secretary
Association Steward Director of Racing Security Director
Association Veterinarian General Manager Tote Operator

 

**Note: A Key Occupational Racing license is considered a public benefit. Under Colorado law, persons applying for a public benefit must establish lawful presence in the United States by providing certain types of identification and submitting a signed affidavit. The Lawful Presence Affidavit must accompany the Key Occupational License Application form.