Adding or Dropping a Franchise - Auto Industry Division

REQUIREMENTS

Adding or Dropping of franchise(s) is governed by the following Laws & Regulations.

Statutes in general related to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board can be found by looking for Title 44, Article 20, here:  http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/michie/.

Regulations in general related to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board can be found here:

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/NumericalCCRDocList.do?deptID=19&deptName=200%20Department%20of%20Revenue&agencyID=77&agencyName=205%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Dealer%20Board

  • C.R.S. 44-20-119 Notice of change of address or status
  • C.R.S. 44-20-418 Notice of change of address or status

PREREQUISITES

  • All manufacturers doing business in Colorado must be licensed in Colorado, prior to enfranchising a Colorado Dealer. 
  • All Dealers must immediately notify the board if they desire to add or delete franchises.
  • To report an addition and/or a deletion of a franchise, a Dealer must notify the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board ("Board") in writing of such.

ADDING A FRANCHISE

Submit a letter to the Board, via the Auto Industry Division, and include the following:

1.  A copy of the Franchise Agreement

2.  A corporate officer, LLC manager or partner must sign the notification letter.

3.  The DBA on the franchise letter must be the same as the Dealer’s licensed name.

4.  If you are not currently a franchised Dealer and you are adding a franchise: The letter must indicate that the franchise was granted in the licensed DBA name.

5.  If the adding of a franchise(s) will change the Dealer’s DBA name, you also must submit a Application for Dealer or Wholesaler License Name Change (DR 2024).

DELETING A FRANCHISE

Submit a letter to the Board, via the Auto Industry Division, and include the following:

1.  Notification of the franchise being deleted.

FEE REQUIRED

See current fiscal year Fee Schedule.
Checks should be made to: Colorado Department of Revenue
 
ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS

If you have additional questions, call our main number: 303-205-5604 or e-mail your question to: dor_dealers@state.co.us