Mortgage Loan Originator Qualifying Education

Prior to applying for a MLO license, the applicant must first complete 20 hours of NMLS approved licensing education comprised of the following,

  • 3 hours of Federal law;
  • 3 hours of Ethics;
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending;
  • 2 hours of Colorado state-specific defined electives; and
    (The 2 hours of state-specific content may also be completed as a standalone course.)
  • 10 hours of general electives.

Once you complete the licensing education, you must pass the National SAFE MLO examination with uniform state content.

Resources

References


Contact Information
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Division of Real Estate
1560 Broadway, Suite 925
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-894-2166 | Fax: 303-894-2683
dora_realestate_website@state.co.us