Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

You need to complete eight (8) hours of continuing education within each calendar year to renew or reinstate your MLO license.

  • Eight (8) hours NMLS Continuing Education
    • 3 hours of Federal law;
    • 2 hours of Ethics;
    • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending; and
    • 1 hour of Colorado defined electives.
      (The 1 hour of Colorado specific continuing education may also be completed as a standalone course.)

CE Exemption for First Year Licensees

New licensees who successfully complete the 20 hours of pre-licensing education approved by the NMLS in the same calendar year in which their license was issued, are exempt from all Colorado specific continuing education requirements for that year.



Contact Information
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Division of Real Estate
1560 Broadway, Suite 925
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-894-2166 | Fax: 303-894-2683