About the Division of Financial Services


In 1931, Colorado began chartering credit unions, when the General Assembly passed the Credit Union Act. Regulation of credit unions, savings and loan institutions and trust companies is conducted by what is now known as the Division of Financial Services. The Division seeks to fulfill this mission in its own areas of statutory responsibility, which are as follows:

  • Examination and supervision of state-chartered credit unions
  • Examination and supervision of state-chartered savings and loan associations
  • Administration and enforcement of the Savings and Loan Public Deposit Protection Act
  • Regulation of certain financial activities of life care institutions

The State Financial Services Commissioner is the administrative head of the Division of Financial Services and is responsible for the day-to-day operation and all examinations and enforcement functions, subject to the policymaking and rulemaking authority of the Financial Services Board. Read More>>

Financial Services Board

The five-member Governor-appointed Financial Services Board is the policy and rulemaking authority for Financial Services. Read more >> 

State Commissioner of Financial Services

The State Commissioner of Financial Services is Mark Valente. Read more>>


List of division staff.

Contact Information

Colorado Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway, Suite 950
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-894-2336   |   Fax: 303-894-7886   |   Email: Click Here