State Board of Veterinary Medicine: News
- Updated Veterinary Opioid Prescribing and Dispensing Policy
- Latest Opioid Policy Updates
- New PDMP Delegate Training Video
- Changes to Disciplinary Procedures
- Mandatory Reporting Reminder
- Important PDMP Updates
- Free Access to PainNET System for Colorado Providers
- Members Needed for Veterinary Pharmaceutical Advisory Committee
- Law Allows Mental Health Evaluations of Licensed Veterinarians
- Opioid Crisis CE Courses
On December 14, 2017, the State Board of Veterinary Medicine updated the veterinary opioid policy for the prescribing and dispensing of opioids to reflect changes from SB 17-146 Access to Prescription Drug Monitoring Program, which was signed into law on April 6, 2017. This policy was adopted in an effort to provide guidelines and to assist prescribing veterinarians. The Board believes that opioid use in a veterinary practice setting requires a unique policy that provides meaningful guidance to veterinarians who treat a wide variety of animals in Colorado. However, Colorado veterinarians may use an alternative approach if the approach satisfies the requirements of the applicable statutes, regulations, and standard of care.
The Division of Professions and Occupations hosted the following stakeholder meetings in Denver to discuss potential updates to the Policy for Prescribing and Dispensing Opioids.
- Listen to the recording of the August 30 stakeholder meeting.
- Listen to the recording of the October 27 stakeholder meeting.
- Listen to the recording of the November 14 stakeholder meeting.
- Listen to the recording of the December 28 stakeholder meeting.
A new training video is now available to show prescribers and pharmacists how to set up delegate accounts for the PDMP. Any prescriber or pharmacist can create up to three delegate accounts for trained individuals who can check the PDMP on the prescriber or pharmacist's behalf. You can utilize the PDMP more frequently to get the most complete medical history possible.
On June 6, 2017, Governor John Hickenlooper signed House Bill 17-1165 (HB17-1165) Department of Regulatory Agencies Boards Disciplinary Action Resolution Process. The new law became effective upon the Governor’s signature on June 6, 2017, and modifies the disciplinary procedures for six healthcare boards (prescriber boards) within the Division of Professions and Occupations in the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA). The prescriber boards affected include:
- Colorado Dental Board;
- Colorado Medical Board;
- State Board of Nursing;
- State Board of Optometry;
- Colorado Podiatry Board; and
- State Board of Veterinary Medicine.
As part of the bill’s implementation, we want to make sure you are aware of certain deadlines that affect the prescriber boards’ complaint processes and how you may need to respond to a board request. The following deadlines now apply unless a prescriber board has more protective provisions in current state law:
- Within 15 days of receipt of a complaint, the boards must provide the complainant with a written notice that includes contact information for the board, a summary of the complaint process and the complainant's rights, including a patient's right to receive a copy of his or her patient records.
- If relevant to a complaint, licensees must provide the board with patient records within 30 days of a board request for the records in the form of the response to a 30-day letter.
- If an investigation was initiated as a result of a complaint, and the board took public, formal action, the board must provide the complainant with written notice of the action within 30 days of the action.
- If a complaint is still pending after six months, the board must notify the complainant that the complaint is still pending, subject to applicable restrictions in state law.
- Each prescriber board is required to update its website within 30 days after suspending or revoking a license, listing each licensee subject to the suspension or revocation separately.
Finally, insurance carriers must now update their participating provider lists every 30 days to remove providers whose licenses have been suspended or revoked.
These deadlines are now in effect as required by state law. If you have questions about the new requirement or any other aspect of House Bill 17-1165, please contact Jo Donlin at firstname.lastname@example.org or 303-894-7434.
Did you know you are a mandatory reporter? Under Colorado law, more than 40 professions are required to report suspected child abuse and elder abuse. These professions include many regulated through the Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO) at DORA, such as:
- Physicians (including physician assistants and physicians in training);
- Dentists and dental hygienists;
- Nurses (including registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, and nurse practitioners);
- Nursing home administrators;
- Occupational therapists;
- Physical therapists;
- Mental health professionals (including psychologists, social workers, professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, registered psychotherapists and all candidates for licensure);
Online trainings help mandatory reporters recognize and report abuse, neglect and exploitation. Licensees of the regulatory boards at DPO may accrue credit towards continuing education and continuing competency requirements for completing the trainings (should they exist for their profession).
Section 19-3-304, C.R.S. outlines the persons required by law to report child abuse and/or neglect. To assist mandatory reporters, a training is available on the Colorado Department of Human Services website at http://coloradocwts.com/mandated-reporter-training.
Section 18-6.5-108, C.R.S outlines the persons required by law to report abuse and exploitation of at-risk elders and at-risk adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Further information and an online training can be found on the Colorado Department of Human Services website at http://www.coloradoaps.com/about-mandatory-reporting-update.html.
If you have further questions regarding these requirements, please contact the Colorado Department of Human Services.
For questions regarding mandatory reporting of at-risk elders and at-risk adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, please contact the Office of Community Access and Independence’s Division of Aging and Adult Services at email@example.com.
As we work together to tackle prescription drug misuse, abuse and diversion, we see PDMP utilization rates continue to increase as the database continues to serve as an important tool for meeting the standard of care for safe prescribing.
We are pleased to announce a new and improved PDMP website: colorado.gov/dora-pdmp. We listened to your challenges and ideas and hope you’ll find the new website easier to navigate and more relevant to your needs. You will be able to link to your PDMP account and access other information directly from the homepage. We also selected a new vendor, APPRISS, and will be utilizing the PMP AWARxE system. The database interface will look different and make PDMP queries easier and quicker. We encourage your continued feedback for ongoing improvement efforts.
New State Law Improves Access to PDMP
To make the PDMP more accessible and easier for health professionals to incorporate into daily use, the Colorado General Assembly passed legislation in 2017. On April 6, 2017, Governor John Hickenlooper signed Senate Bill 17-146 Access To Prescription Drug Monitoring Program, which clarifies health professionals' access to the PDMP database by:
- Allowing a health care provider with prescribing authority to query the PDMP about a current patient, including checking on drug interactions and side effects, thus making the PDMP an even more useful tool for health professionals in their clinical decision-making for patients;
- Allowing a veterinarian with prescribing authority to query the PDMP about a current client if the veterinarian has a reasonable basis to suspect the client has committed drug abuse or has mistreated an animal; and
- Allowing a pharmacist to query the PDMP about a current patient for whom the pharmacist is dispensing any prescription drug, rather than only patients receiving controlled substances.
The law became effective immediately, and the Division is working with the appropriate Boards to implement the new law including rulemaking, outreach and education. If you have questions about the Colorado PDMP, please contact Division staff at 303-894-5957 or firstname.lastname@example.org. If you need technical assistance with the PMP AWARxE system, please contact the vendor help desk at 1-855-263-6403.
The Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (HCPF) has worked with the vendor of its Project ECHO Pain Management Program, Community Health Center, to expand access to the program website known as PainNET.
The PainNet website is an online learning community that aims to improve pain care expertise among primary care providers. The website is also now available to other Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid Program) primary care medical providers (PCMPs) for free.
The PainNET learning community enables PCMPs to develop expertise to treat patients with complex chronic pain through a combination of archived Project ECHO Pain case presentations, resource libraries, community forums and expert consultations. Providers and specialists are able to communicate through discussion boards, chat rooms and direct messaging.
This is a great resource for Colorado providers to access resources that can increase their knowledge on how to manage chronic pain more effectively.
Learn More About PainNET
- Download the PainNET Access flyer.
- Watch the Introduction to PainNET video.
- Sign up for access by contacting Agi Erickson at email@example.com.
- Contact JD Belshe, Consultant/Policy & Program Analyst for HCPF, at firstname.lastname@example.org for any other questions about the PainNET program.
The State Veterinarian, Dr. Keith Roehr, in conjunction with the Colorado State Board of Pharmacy, is seeking members for the new Veterinary Pharmaceutical Advisory Committee created by Senate Bill 16-062. Committee members will advise and make recommendations to the Board on applications, complaints, and rulemaking related to veterinary pharmaceuticals, providing a meaningful impact on the veterinary pharmaceutical community.
One of the three members appointed to the Committee must be a licensed veterinarian who predominantly works on large animals and be actively engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine. A second member of the Committee must be a licensed pharmaceutical wholesaler engaged in the distribution of animal drugs who is actively engaged in the practice of wholesale pharmacy, or a licensed veterinarian actively engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine. Both of these members must have at least five years' experience in Colorado and have licenses in good standing.
A final member of the Committee must have a background in agriculture and not be a pharmacist, pharmaceutical wholesaler, or veterinarian. At least one of these members shall be a person who does not do business along the Front Range. Members of the Committee will serve three-year terms, though one of the initial members will be appointed for a two-year term. Members shall serve without compensation or expense reimbursement. The Committee meets as needed prior to Board meetings, likely to be about three or four times a year.
To apply, interested parties should submit a cover letter describing their qualifications and interest, a resume or curriculum vitae, and a list of three references to email@example.com with a copy to firstname.lastname@example.org.
On May 8, 2015, Governor John Hickenlooper signed House Bill 15-1187, Concerning Mental Health Evaluations of Licensed Veterinarians Conducted by a Veterinarian Peer Health Assistance Program as Ordered by the State Board of Veterinary Medicine. The law gives the State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) additional tools to use when making disciplinary decisions. With the new law already in effect, the Board may now:
- Require a licensed veterinarian to submit to a mental health evaluation by a peer health assistance program to determine a veterinarian's ability to practice with reasonable skill and safety due to certain conditions;
- Enter into a confidential agreement with the licensee if it determines that a veterinarian cannot practice with reasonable skill and safety if certain conditions are met; and
- Discipline a veterinarian who does not comply with the terms of a confidential agreement.
Please check this website for updates on the Rulemaking and other implementation activities. If you have questions, please contact us at email@example.com.
Please read the following message from Lili Tenney, Deputy Director of the Center for Health, Work & Environment at the University of Colorado School of Public Health:
Dear Provider Education Work Group Members,
In 2012, the Center for Health, Work & Environment at the Colorado School of Public Health launched a 2-hour online CME course to retrain providers on current state and federal guidelines for chronic pain management. The online, self-paced training, titled “The Opioid Crisis: Guidelines and Tools for Improving Chronic Pain Management”, has trained over 2,500 providers.
We partnered with the Colorado Consortium for Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention to develop three new continuing education courses:
- The Opioid Crisis: REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) Supplement
- The Opioid Crisis: Best Practices in Veterinary Medicine
- The Opioid Crisis: Best Practices in Dentistry (for oral surgeons and dentist)
We developed the trainings with the help of many of you and from experts in practices, universities, agencies and community organizations including:
Laurie Lovedale (Peer Assistance Services), Rob Valuck (Skaggs School of Pharmacy), Peter Smith MD (UCD), Lee Newman MD (CSPH), Kathryn Mueller MD, Giles Horrocks DDS, Bob Murphy DDS, Michael Rollert DDS, Brett Kessler DDS (CDA), Robin Downing DVM, Peter Hellyer DVM (CSU), James Gaynor DVM. Silpa Kreft MD, Tom Kurt MD, and Lyndsay Krisher, MPH.
We would love your help with outreach and marketing as we strive to reach all prescribers across Colorado. Please contact me directly if you would like more information or have ideas on getting this important information out to providers.
Special thanks to the Consortium and DORA medicine, veterinary medicine, and dentistry boards for the support.
Lili Tenney, MPH
Center for Worker Health and Environment | Health Links Colorado | Colorado School of Public Health |
13199 E. Montview Ave. Suite 200 | Aurora, CO 80045