Electrical Board: News
- Occupational Licensing Town Hall - Feb. 23
- Approved CE Providers and Classes
- Sunset Review Begins
- 2017 National Electrical Code
- Take 5 to Get Wise - Quick Facts
- Permits and Inspections for "Tiny Homes"
- Professional Engineer Certification for Small Hydro Projects
The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO) was awarded a grant by the Council of State Governments (CSG), National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) and National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) (“the Partners”), with the support of the US Department of Labor (USDOL), to participate in an Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium (the Consortium).
The grant is not monetary in nature, but provides significant technical support to the eleven states selected by the Partners, as well as each state’s stakeholder groups, to learn about the following:
- Best practices in occupational licensing;
- Challenges and opportunities with streamlining occupational licensing in Colorado;
- Unique approaches used in current licensing policies in Consortium states;
- Policies that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry.
DORA/DPO will host a Stakeholder/Town Hall Meeting to hear from legislators, a representative from the Governor’s office, and representatives from our Partners regarding this endeavor. The meeting will focus on the following five occupations: addiction counselors, barbers, cosmetologists, electricians, and plumbers.
- Friday, February 23, 2018 from 1-4 p.m.
- 1560 Broadway, 19th Floor Conference Room, Denver, CO 80202
- Register for the webinar: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2797650550601214211
- Download the official Notice
Senate Bill 16-1073 Electrical Industry Safety and Training Act created a new state law that requires any licensed journeyman electrician, master electrician or residential wireman to complete 24 hours of continuing education course credits prior to renewing his or her license. The new law replaces the previous continued competency program and begins with the 2020 license renewal period. All licensees must complete the required 24 hours prior to submitting an application for renewal.
As we continue to implement this new law, we are pleased to provide a list of pre-approved continuing education providers and classes. Only State Electrical Board approved providers and classes will be accepted for continuing education credits. The complete list is now available on the Electrical Board CE webpage, along with the applications for those interested in becoming an approved provider, teacher or class.
The Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform (COPRRR) is conducting a sunset review of the Electrical Board. Analysis in a sunset review is performed to determine whether the regulatory program is necessary and should be continued, modified or eliminated. This review will produce a report with recommendations to the Colorado General Assembly and result in subsequent legislation based on the recommendations in the report.
Your input is an important component of a successful sunset review. If you would like to submit comments online, please submit the COPRRR online comment form.
Beginning July 1, 2017, the Colorado State Electrical Board will be enforcing the 2017 National Electrical Code (NEC) as written in all jurisdictions it has authority over. Permits pulled before July 1, 2017 will be inspected to the 2014 National Electrical Code.
- 2017 NEC Electrical Rules (Effective July 1, 2017)
Take five minutes now to review some important consumer information featured on our new flyers. Using the tips we provide could help save you time and headaches later!
- 5 Things to Know Before Hiring a Plumber or Electrician
- Tiny Homes - What You Need To Know
- FYI Before You DIY
The growing popularity of the “Tiny Home” carries with it several non-resolvable issues for individuals purchasing one with the intent of residing in the state of Colorado. The homes contain electrical wiring, plumbing, and fuel gas piping which are all required to be inspected by one of three means listed in the summary below. Tiny Homes built in other states cannot be inspected as required by Colorado statute as the installations are already covered, therefore tiny homes are not eligible for connection to utility services such as electric, water, sewer, or fuel gas.
- are units that are typically 400 square feet of space or less and mounted on a wheeled platform for mobility.
- are constructed at an offsite manufacturing location (mostly out of state).
- contain living areas for cooking and sleeping.
- have electrical wiring and plumbing already installed.
The Colorado Revised Statutes for Electrical (12-23-116 C.R.S.) and for Plumbing (12-58-114.5 C.R.S.) require inspections for all all electrical, plumbing, and gas piping installations. These inspections must be conducted by:
- State Electrical or Plumbing Board inspectors; or
- Local Jurisdictional Authority Inspectors; or
- Certification by the Division of Housing pursuant to 24-32-3311 Colorado Revised Statues regulating manufacture/mobile home construction (these units bear a HUD or FHA certification data plate).
Any structure that is built without inspections #1 or #2 above during construction and is not certified by #3 above is not eligible for electrical, plumbing or gas permits, or inspections by state or local jurisdictional permitting agencies by current state law.
All plumbing, fuel gas piping and electrical installations are to be inspected and passed prior to connection of any utility services. As these units are already finished on the inside, making inspection impossible, "Tiny Homes" are not eligible for connection to utility services.
House Bill 15-1364 has been signed into law. Professional Engineers (PEs) are now allowed to certify that induction-based hydroelectric facilities meet IEEE standards.
PE certifications must be submitted using the Professional Engineer's Certification of Induction-Based Hydroelectric Facility form. This form must be signed and stamped by a registered PE certifying compliance, and must be submitted to the State Electrical Inspector responsible for inspection.