Jump to navigation
Using Online Services:
Apprentices must register with DORA as an individual. You must register an account (name, SSN, address, etc.) with DORA so that the contractor who hired you can add you to their contractor account. If you have ever been registered as an apprentice before, provide the apprentice number to the contractor. Do not create another account in our system. Apprentices are given one number to carry until they pass an exam for another license.
Register An Account
Create an Apprentice Registration Number
Please follow the instructions below to add and pay for an apprentice being added to your registration.
If you wish to add an apprentice who is not yet registered with the division, you must first register a new account for the individual; you MUST NOT register them while logged in to your contractor account. Follow the instructions in part 1. Register the apprentice account as if you were that person creating an account for the first time. You will need their personal information to register an account or you can have the apprentice complete the registration.
Add/Remove an Apprentice to/from Your Contractor Registration
Law requires that apprentices must register with the State Electrical Board. Once an apprentice begins working for an electrical contractor, the employer must complete an application to register the apprentice with the Board within 30 days. After the initial registration, a card with a registration number is given to the apprentice. This number will remain the same through any employment changes. It is the apprentice's responsibility to have the card with them while working in the trade. Failure to do so may result in disciplinary action.
An employer must also notify the Board within 30 days when an apprentice terminates his or her employment with the company. The contractor can submit either a registration or termination application to the board via the same application. There is no fee for notifying the Board that an apprentice has been terminated. Please refer to § 12-23-110.5(3)(a) C.R.S.
Electrical contractors are responsible for complying with the law regarding the registration and licensing requirements of their employees. The holder of a residential wireman's license may work without direct supervision on projects of one, two, three, and four-family dwellings. However, a licensed residential wireman must be registered as an electrical apprentice and be supervised by a licensed journeyman or master electrician when performing commercial/industrial work, or working on a residential project of more than four-family units (apartment buildings). Colorado law requires that the electrical apprentice be directly supervised by a licensed Colorado electrician.