Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure: News
- Stakeholder Meeting 2/25/2019
- New Endorsement Rules Approved at Emergency Hearing
- Reminder to Register School Shops
- Webinar Recordings
- Consumer Tips for Nail Salons
- Hair Smoothing Products Could Release Formaldehyde
The Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure will hold a stakeholder meeting to collect input on proposed changes to Permanent Rule 4. The rule, which establishes guidelines for licensure by endorsement, previously prevented applicants from using work experience in combination with training hours to meet Colorado's educational requirements. On January 24, 2019, the Director of the Division of Professions and Occupations took action to remove this barrier. The new Rule 4 allows applicants to submit a combination of training hours and documented work experience to meet Colorado's educational requirements. Permanent Rule 4 would replace Emergency Rule 4, which, by Colorado law, can only be in effect for 120 days.
- Monday, February 25, 2019, 10 a.m.
Three Ways to Participate
- In Person: Civic Center Plaza, 1560 Broadway, Room 1250C, Denver, CO 80202
- By Webinar: Register here.
- By Written Comment: Provide written comments in advance of the meeting. The deadline for receiving comments is Monday, February 25, 2019, at 5 p.m. Please email comments to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Stakeholder testimony will be limited to discussion of the specific rule revisions listed in this notice. Oral comments will be taken from participants who are present or participating via webinar.
The Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure approved amendments in the licensure by endorsement rule to further clarify the meaning of "substantially equivalent" as set forth in section 12-8-118 (1)(a), C.R.S. during an emergency rulemaking hearing on Jan. 24, 2019. The final adopted rule is available here.
All private and public schools currently offering barber and cosmetology programs that house a shop offering services to the public must register with the Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure. No action is needed if your shop registration was recently renewed and has a Nov. 30, 2019 expiration date.
If your school shop has never held a shop registration, apply online using Online Services. The original business application is only available online and payments can be made with a credit card.
To reinstate a shop registration, please complete the reinstatement application and return it to our office in person or by mail with the application fee. The shop reinstatement application will be processed as soon as possible. If you do not register or reinstate the school shop registration by July 30, 2018, you are still encouraged to register the shop location; however, there may be a penalty as determined by the Division Director on a case by case basis.
All registrations expire Nov. 30 in odd-numbered years. The renewal period opens about 5-6 weeks before the expiration date. If the registration is not renewed, it will expire after the 60-day grace period which usually occurs around early February of even-numbered years.
Top 5 Tips to Remember
- Maintain updated contact information with us to receive important notices.
- If changes are needed, please report those in writing via the change application.
- Make a note of the expiration date on your calendar and other mobile devices.
- Verify the status of the shop registration via our online verification page.
- Post the shop registration where it is visible to the public.
The Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure hosted two webinars to help licensees better understand revised and simplified rules that are now in effect.
New Rules Update: Chapters 2, 3 and 9
New Rules Update: Chapters 7, 8, and 10
New Rules Update: Chapters 4 & 9
New Rules Update: Chapters 5 & 6
Please note that Q& As from these webinars will be posted at a later date.
Before your next visit to a nail salon, please view or download our Consumer Tips for Nail Salons to learn more about what you should observe the next time you go in for a manicure or pedicure.
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and several State OSHA programs are investigating questions and complaints from hair salon owners and workers about possible formaldehyde exposure from hair smoothing products. Some of these products have been labeled as "formaldehyde-free." During Federal OSHA investigations, air tests showed formaldehyde at levels above OSHA's limits in salons using Brazilian Blowout Acai Professional Smoothing Solution and Brasil Cacau Cadiveu, resulting in violations and citations.
- Warning Letter from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) dated 8/22/11
- News Release from the U.S. Department of Labor dated 4/11/11
- Hazard Alert Update from the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
- OSHA Fact Sheet on Formaldehyde