State Board of Licensure for Architects, Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors: News

To Reinstate Your License

If you did not renew your Architect, Professional Engineer or Professional Land Surveyor License by December 31, 2017 (the last date of the grace period allowed by the Administrative Procedures Act), your license is now expired. In order to reinstate your license, you must complete and submit a reinstatement application, along with the reinstatement fee. 

To access the appropriate application, visit our Applications & Forms page and select your profession. You may also select “Find Applications & Forms” from the “Licensing Services” heading on the Board’s main page and then select your profession.  

ARE 5.0 Launched November 1, 2016

The next version of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE), ARE 5.0, was launched on November 1, 2016 and incorporate the latest in testing technology. The exam incorporates the latest graphic testing methods and exam content with a new division structure. It has been reorganized into six divisions to align with the new Architectural Experience Program (AXP) and reflect the phases of architectural practice. 

While ARE 5.0 will be available to candidates effective November 1, 2016, the ARE 4.0 will continue to be administered until June 30, 2018 to allow candidates to finish the exam in a way that best suits their needs.

For more detailed information about ARE 5.0 including question type demos and a Transition Calculator to help you create a personal testing strategy, visit

New Retired Architect Status

Gov. Hickenlooper signed HB16-1076 on March 16, 2016 allowing Architects to place their licenses in Retired status. That option is now available to you only if your Colorado Architect license is in Active status and you are at least 65 years of age.

The current status of your license is paid and renewed through October 31, 2017 so there is no need to change your status to Retired until the renewal period that will begin in Sept.-Oct. 2017.

Note that the statute does not allow for a Retired Architect to practice, offer to practice, or represent oneself as anything other than "Retired Architect" while in Retired status.

Board Rules regarding the reinstatement of a license from “Retired” to “Active” status are available for review on the AES Laws, Rules and Policies page

Please sign up at the following link to be notified of future rulemaking:

If you wish to place your license into Retired status, you may complete and sign the Application to Change your Status to Retired and submit to the address on the application. Note that you will be required to attest you have met the requirements above. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.

Processing your application may take six to eight weeks after the receipt of your written request.

IDP Becomes AXP!

On June 29, 2016, the Intern Development Program (IDP) was renamed the Architectural Experience Program (AXP). The 17 experience areas have been realigned into six broad practice-based areas. Visit the NCARB website for details and frequently asked questions.

PS Exam Transitions to Computer-Based Testing

The April 2016 PS (Principles & Practice of Surveying) exam was the last administered in the paper/pencil format. Registration and scheduling opened June 2016 for the new computer-based testing (CBT) PS exam with first testing appointments available in October 2016. The new computer-based PS exam will allow for year-round testing at approved Pearson VUE test centers. This gives examinees the freedom to pick the exam time, date and location. The new format will include a digital PS Reference Handbook. Examinees will receive their results 7-10 days after the exam. Go to for more information.

Computer-Administered State Specific PLS Exam

Effective January 2016, the State Specific PLS Exam will be administered by computer at proctored test sites. View the State Specific PLS Exam Candidate Handbook for further information.

ARE Rolling Clock Update: Exams Taken Before 2006 Expiring

July 2014 marked the fifth year since the June 2009 update to the Rolling Clock, meaning that any divisions passed before January 1, 2006 will start to expire unless a candidate has passed all divisions of the ARE by July 1, 2014. Candidates should log on to My NCARB and review their Rolling Clock history in My Examination. Any examination taken after 1996 — the start of computer-based testing — is visible within My Examination and identifies the date the division or division credit will expire. 

If previous eligibilities have lapsed, candidates will need to contact their registration board (or NCARB, if the board participates in the Direct Registration Program) to have their eligibilities reopened under the Board's current policies.

The Rolling Clock was originally enacted to establish a uniform standard and facilitate reciprocity among jurisdictions. Member Boards decided that requiring the exam to be passed within a reasonable period better ensures the ARE remains a valid measure of the level of necessary competence to independently practice architecture. If you have additional questions, please contact NCARB Customer Service at 202-879-0520 or email

NCEES Exam Information

NCEES Exam Results — As of October 2013, NCEES no longer provides pass/fail letters to examinees. Instead, examinees are notified when their results are available and are given instructions to log into their My NCEES accounts. 

Reminder: NCEES Examinee Guide — The NCEES Examinee Guide is the official guide to policies and procedures for all NCEES exams. All examinees are required to read this document before starting the exam registration process. It is the examinee's responsibility to make sure he or she has the current version. View and download the recently updated version on the NCEES website. 

Proposal for Mandatory CE for PEs

May 17, 2013: The Executive Director of the Department of Regulatory Agencies has released a report in response to a proposal submitted by the Colorado Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers regarding mandatory continuing education for Professional Engineers. Read the report.