DOLA announces four cities named the newest Main Street® Communities




DENVER – Tuesday, August 4, 2015 –  The Colorado Department of Local Affairs’ (DOLA) Colorado Main Street® program has announced four cities as its newest Main Street® Communities. They are: Leadville, Elizabeth, Wellington, and Central City.


Acceptance into the Main Street® program signifies the communities’ commitment to downtown revitalization and historic preservation. The program advocates community self-reliance, local empowerment, and the rebuilding of central business districts based on their traditional assets of unique architecture, personal service, and local ownership. These four cities will join Colorado’s 14 other Main Street communities.


“The Main Street® program provides a comprehensive approach to downtown revitalization,” says Irv Halter, DOLA executive director. “The approach includes economic development to expand existing businesses, attract new ones and create jobs.”


In 2014, Main Street® Communities created 48 new businesses, and saw a 54 percent increase in job creation with 139 full time and 70 part time new positions.


DOLA manages the Main Street® program which is funded in part by a grant from the State Historical Fund.