License Extensions

If you are not in Colorado to renew your driver license, you may request an extension of your expiration date as long as your license is not expired at the time of the request and there are no unpaid tickets or other active restraints on your driving privilege.
  • A sticker is issued to extend the expiration date of a license if a person is out of state/country or who are temporarily unable to apply in person due to physical impairment when their license expires.
  • A civilian extension is valid for one year from the expiration date and can only be issued once unless the person is out of the country. If out of country, a second extension may be issued with a separate request made within 90 days of expiration of the first extension. 
  • Colorado residents on active-duty military are eligible for an automatic three-year extension. If military personnel decide to apply for the extension sticker, the extension is free but the application must include a letter from your commanding officer stating that you are active duty military and currently stationed outside the state of Colorado or a copy of your military orders that state that you are stationed outside of Colorado. Active duty military members may extend their license as long as it has not been expired for more than 3 years.  Requests for military extensions may be faxed to 303-205-5990.

See an entire list of fees here.

What is required? 
You may check your eligibility to extend your license online
 
If you do not extend your license online, the department will need:
  • A written Request for Extension (DR2989), signed by you with an out-of-state mailing address
  • For civilians applying for an extension, provide your full legal name, date of birth, and out-of-state address on the request form and include payment of the appropriate fee. Make check or money order payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue.
Mail the request to:
Department of Revenue
Division of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 173345 
Denver, CO 80217-3345
 
 
CDL Drivers Only: Due to medical and testing requirements, a 30-day extension is available.  A 30-day CDL extension is free.  Please submit your request to:  
 
Colorado Department of Revenue
Driver Control Section
PO Box 173345 
Denver, CO 80217-3345
 
CDL drivers in the military:  If you have a Colorado CDL license and are based out of the state or overseas, the license is automatically extended for up to three years per Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-118(2) as long as a military ID is presented with the license. Please do not request an extension, no sticker will be mailed.