How COVID-19 Closure Affects Vehicle Services

The closure of our offices, as well as many county offices, dramatically affected many people in our state who rely on these offices to properly register their vehicles. During this period of restricted customer access, DMV staff will continue to work internally supporting online, mail, and phone operations. We are working hard to adjust processes to allow as many customers as possible to use our online services. Please use online services at if at all possible.

Emissions Testing

  • AirCare Colorado testing sites have reopened. Please follow their recommendations on when to bring your vehicle in for testing. 

Inability to Register

  • County Offices Reopening:  Vehicles must be registered in the county where you live. You cannot go to a different county to register your vehicle. Many county offices have reopened and are assisting customers with transactions Please use our online services and self-service kiosks, where available (and even in a different county from where you live, as long as your county of residence also participates). If you are unable to process your transaction online, please cotact your county motor vehicle office
  • Dealership purchases: Customers who purchased vehicles at a dealership may obtain another temporary permit from the dealership.
  • Unable to renew online: If you are unable to renew your plates or register your vehicle online at, please contact your county motor vehicle office
  • Temporary Vehicle registration late-fee waivers: Effective immediately, the state is permitting counties to waive late fees for vehicle registration and renewals. This is in effect for the period of the Governor’s emergency order, plus 60 days. Customers are encouraged to use online services or self-service kiosks to complete eligible transactions.
  • Fleet Vehicle Registration- For issues with a fleet vehicle registration pleast contact the Vehicle Services Section at 303-205-5608.


  • Dealership purchases: Customers who purchased vehicles at a dealership may obtain another temporary permit from the dealership.
  • Dealer Titles: We have reopened some appointment types at our Lakewood office. No walkins can be seen. Dealers are still be able to process Dealer Resale and Duplicate titles via mail. Dealers should send titles, appropriate accompanying documents and a separate check of $25.00 for each Dealer Resale title and $8.20 or $7.20 (whichever is applicable per DR 2539A) for Duplicate title transactions to:

Colorado Department of Revenue
VSS/BOC Room 147
PO Box 173350
Denver, CO 80217-3350

The process and requirements remain the same for Dealer Resale and Duplicate title processing, other than the mode of submission is now only via mail. Dealers may include prepaid FedEx envelopes for expedited returns.

All other dealer title transactions must be sent to the County in which the customer resides. Motor Vehicle dealers are asked to submit mortgage mail paperwork via USPS during the COVID-19 closure, to ensure that it is delivered. Delivers using UPS, FedEx, etc. that require signatures should not be used as not all counties are open or receiving mail in this manner. 

Questions should be directed to: (303) 205-5608

IRP and 3PA

  • Individuals without 3PA accounts 
  • International Registration Plan (IRP):   Registration late fees will be waived and registration extensions will be allowed for 60 days from this letter with no penalties. Online and mail-in services are available, but there may be a delay in processing time. View more information on our emergency waiver

       Questions should be directed to: (303) 205-5608