Jump to navigation
To view the 2020 emissions requirements for a gasoline vehicle
To view the 2020 emissions requirements for a diesel vehicle
GAS AND DIESEL WAIVER QUALIFICATIONS
Type of Waiver
Reasons Waiver Request Will be Denied
Repair Waiver – Gasoline Powered Vehicles
1968 and newer gas vehicles:
$715 in emissions related repairs
Can be granted when all requirements are met
1967 and older gas powered vehicles:
$75 in emissions related repairs
Economic Hardship Waiver – Gasoline Powered Vehicles only
No minimum repairs necessary.
Vehicle owner must be receiving assistance from an established and approved public assistance program.
Vehicle must be the sole means of transportation.
Missing or tampered emissions equipment.
Failing gas cap (evaporative systems)
Can be granted only once per vehicle.
Repair Waiver – Diesel Powered Vehicle
Light-duty (14,000 GVW or less): $750 in emissions related repairs.
Can be granted when all requirements are met.
Diesel vehicles are not eligible for hardship waivers
Heavy-duty (14,001 GVW or more) $1500 in emissions related repairs
If you or your mechanic have completed repairs, but spent less than the required amount as specified in the above chart for a waiver, and your vehicle is still unable to pass an emission inspection, please contact the technical center nearest you to schedule an appointment for a diagnostic evaluation. Emissions Technical Center Locations and phone numbers:
Emissions Technical Centers Locations - Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment
If you believe you qualify for a waiver or time extension please contact our office at 303-205-5603 or apply online at: https://mydmv.colorado.gov/_/
If the ownership of a gasoline vehicle is being transferred in the last year of the seven year exemption, an emissions test will be required. For example, in 2020, an emissions test will be required if the ownership of a model year 2014 is transferred.
If the ownership of a diesel vehicle is being transferred in the last year of the four year exemption, an emissions test will be required. For example, in 2020, an emissions test will be required if the ownership of a model year 2017 is transferred.
Kit cars, all-electric vehicles, motorcycles, horseless carriage and vehicles registered as street rods are exempt from emissions testing requirements.
If you see a vehicle emitting excessive smoke, please report its license plate number (and, if possible, whether it is gasoline- or diesel-powered) to Colorado's Smoking Vehicle Hotline: 303-692-3211 / firstname.lastname@example.org.
Completed emissions extension form (DR 2376) (131 KB)
If the County in which the vehicle is currently located, does emissions testing, provide proof of a passing emissions test.*
Provide a copy of current insurance
Renewal reminder postcard, if available.
Registrant's contact information including a phone number and email address
*If emissions testing is not performed in the county where the vehicle is located, a VIN verification form (DR 2698) must be completed by a law enforcement officer and submitted. The vehicle must also be emissions tested within 15 days of returning to Colorado.
For questions or concerns regarding the out of state emissions extension process, please call the Colorado Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Emissions Program at 303-205-5603 or apply online at: https://mydmv.colorado.gov/_/