Jump to navigation
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles maintains driving records that reflect activity posted to the record for the past seven years. (They cannot be limited to show periods of less than seven years.) The division also maintains driver histories which go back beyond seven years. These records are maintained in accordance with state and federal laws including the Fair Credit Reporting Act and the requirements of the Federal Trade Commission.
You may purchase non-certified copies of your driving record at full service Driver License Offices or online at mydmv.colorado.gov. Copies of driver histories and certified copies of driving records and driver histories are available only at the Division of Motor Vehicles, 1881 Pierce St., Lakewood, CO 80214 or by mail.
Tor request a Letter of Clearance, submit the DR2559 Permission for Release of Driver Records to Self or Another person to include the following:
Department of Revenue
Driver Control Section
P.O. Box 173345
Denver, CO 80217-3345
Privacy laws prevent us from providing you with a driving record other than your own without that person's permission. If you are requesting a record as an employer or because of a pending court case, you may be permitted to receive the record based upon the criteria of the Driver Record Search Requestor Release. This form may be printed from our website and submitted with the appropriate fee.
Additional forms which may be helpful include:
For mail in applications, complete the Application for Reinstatement (Form DR 2870). Mail the completed application, check or money order for $95 and specific requirements (for example: evidence of insurance, SR22, etc.) to the address noted on the application. You must clearly write your name and date of birth on the coupon when paying by money order. Whenever possible, mail this information approximately thirty-sixty days before your eligibility date. This allows us to complete your request in a timely manner. Allow up to twenty business days (after mailing) for us to complete your application before contacting our office. Once we verify that all the necessary information has been received and we have completed processing the application, we will mail a Letter of Clearance to the address you listed on the application.
Anyone whose license is valid or expired for less than one year may request an extension if they are not in Colorado to renew their license. There may not be any unpaid tickets on the record for an extension to be issued. A military extension is free. Please submit the applicable Civilian Extension fee. Add $2.00 if you currently have a motorcycle endorsement.
The department will need a written request for an extension, signed by you with an out-of-state mailing address. For military personnel, you must provide a letter from your commanding officer stating that you are active-duty military and currently stationed outside the State of Colorado. Requests for a military extension may be faxed to 303-205-5990. For civilians applying for an extension, you will need to provide your full name, date of birth, and out-of-state address, and the applicable Civilian Extension fee. Make check or money order payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue.
NOTE TO CDL DRIVERS: Due to medical and testing requirements for CDL drivers, only a 30-day extension is available. There is no fee for this thirty-day extension. Please submit your request to the address listed below. Driver Control Section Colorado Department of Revenue Room 164 - ROS Denver, CO 80261-0016 NOTE TO CDL DRIVERS: If you have a Colorado CDL license and are based out of the state or overseas, the license is automatically extended for up to three years per Colorado Revised Statute 42-2-118(2) as long as a military ID or military orders are presented with the license. Please do not request an extension, no sticker will be mailed.