News Release: School Access for Emergency Response (SAFER) Awards Announced

Centennial, Colo. - December 17, 2018 - The Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management announces the award of more than $4.8 million in grant funding to 12 Colorado education providers under the School Access for Emergency Response (SAFER) grant program.  

The SAFER grant program  was enacted by SB18-158 providing funds for interoperable communication hardware, software, equipment maintenance and training to allow for seamless communications between existing school communications systems and first responder communications systems. Thirty-nine applicants were submitted and twelve local education providers were selected to receive funding.  Thank you to all of those who applied for the SAFER Grant Program. 

The following agencies were selected to receive SAFER funds:

  • Montrose County School District:  $595,910.00
  • Adams 12 School District:  $127,732.00
  • Durango School District:  $521,711.00
  • Montezuma-Cortez RE-1:  $200,321.00
  • Del Norte School District:  $124,550.00
  • Archuleta School District 50:  $150,694.00
  • Sheridan School District:  $361,674.00
  • Pueblo City Schools D-60:  $1,137,610.00
  • Norwood School District:  $3,536.00
  • Primero School District:  $27,197.00
  • Lamar School District:  $246,305.00
  • Cherry Creek School District:  $1,360,114.00

All agencies submitting grant applications were notified on Decmber 14.  Any request for reconsideration should be sent to: by December 21, 2018.  For more information, please visit:


Media Contact

Micki Trost, Strategic Communications Director

Cell: 303-472-4087