Committee Information

Twenty-one committee members were appointed to the Homeland Security and All-Hazards Senior Advisory Committee by the executive director for the Colorado Department of Public Safety.  He will lead the group as the committee chair and the State Homeland Security Advisor.  The committee was established pursuant to Colorado Revised Statute 24-33.5-1614.

Homeland Security and All-Hazards Framework

This Homeland Security & All-Hazards Strategic Framework was prepared by the State of Colorado Homeland Security and All-Hazards Senior Advisory Committee (HSAC) to  provide broad, strategic direction and guidance for the stakeholders of Colorado’s Homeland Security program. This strategy complies with applicable Federal and State requirements and supports the National Preparedness Goal and other associated guidelines.

Homeland Security and All-Hazards Senior Advisory Committee Members


Internal Colorado Department of Public Safety Appointments

  • Executive Director Stan Hilkey, Colorado Department of Public Safety
  • Director Kevin Klein, Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (non-voting member)
  • Chief Scott Hernandez , Colorado State Patrol
  • Director Mike Morgan, Division of Fire Prevention and Control

Colorado State Agency Appointments

  • Director Dane Matthew, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
  • Deputy Director Mickey Hunt, Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
  • Safety Communications Network Manager Peter Bangas,Governor's Office of Information Technology
  • Deputy Director Bruce Eisenhauer, Department of Local Affairs
  • Colorado Chief Information Security Officer Debbi Blyth, Governor's Office of Information Technology
  • Office of Emergency Management Director Chad Ray, Colorado Department of Transportation

External Agency Representatives

  • Commissioner Peggy Littleton, Colorado Counties Inc., El Paso
  • Mike Chard, President, Colorado Emergency Management Association
  • Mark Bonera, Envision Health Corporation (Private Industry Representative)
  • Meghan Dollar, Legislative and Policy Advocate (Colorado Municipal League Representative)
  • Lt. Nathan Fogg,  (Denver Urban Area Security Initiative Representative)
  • Ann Terry, Executive Director, Special Districts Association
  • Max Khaytsus, Colorado Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster
  • Scott Kellar, Homeland Security Coordinator, North-Central Region (Regional Homeland Security Coordinators Representative)
  • Kathi Gurule, Risk and Emergency Manager, Southern Ute Indian Tribe (Tribal Representative)
  • Rick Albers, Sheriff, Clear Creek County Sheriff's Office, County Sheriffs of Colorado
  • Chief Randy Lesher,  Thompson Valley EMS (Emergency Medical Services Association of Colorado Representative)
  • Chief Dwight Henniger, Vail Police Department,  (Colorado Association of Chiefs of Police Representative)
  • Garry Briese, Executive Director, Colorado State Fire Chiefs Association 
  • Patricia Williams, Executive Director, Colorado Emergency Preparedness Partnership
  • Dave Hayes, El Paso County Sheriff Office (Public Safety Communications Subcommittee)

Committee Mission

The Homeland Security and All-Hazards Senior Advisory Committee's mission is to assist the state in becoming better able to prevent, protect, mitigate, respond, and recover from those threats and hazards posing greatest risk to Colorado.  

Committee Responsibilities

  • provide advice and counsel to the the State Homeland Security Advisor;
  • formulate recommendations on the State Homeland Security Strategy;
  • review grant funding applications; and
  • provide policy guidance to the new Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management.  

Committee By-Laws