Time Off & Leave
The State of Colorado currently offers employees a comprehensive leave program that includes, but is not limited to annual, sick, holiday, family medical, short-term disability and military. Employees earn personal and sick leave at varying accrual rates, based on years of service. Full-time employees begin earning annual leave at an accrual rate of 8 hours per month and sick leave at 6.66 hours per month. Leave for a part-time employee is earned on a pro-rated basis.
The Division of Human Resources provides professional consulting and technical guidance on the State's leave policies including: Annual, sick, holiday, family medical, military leave, veterans, active military, and national disaster response personnel.
New Legal Holiday
Frances Xavier Cabrini Day (first Monday in October) is a new legal holiday in Colorado. It replaces Columbus Day (second Monday in October).
This new holiday was created by House Bill 20-1031, which was passed by the legislature on March 10, 2020 and signed into law by Governor Polis on March 20, 2020. Cabrini Day is the first State paid legal holiday to recognize a woman in the nation.
|Friday, July 3, 2020||Independence Day|
|Monday, September 7, 2020||Labor Day|
|Monday, October 5, 2020||Frances Xavier Cabrini Day|
|Wednesday, November 11, 2020||Veterans Day|
|Thursday, November 26, 2020||Thanksgiving Day|
|Friday, December 25, 2020||Christmas Day|
|Friday, January 1, 2021||New Year's Day|
|Monday, January 18, 2021||Martin Luther King, Jr. Day|
|Monday, February 15, 2021||President's Day|
|Monday, May 31, 2021||Memorial Day|
Printable PDF Holiday Schedules
For more information, email the Compensation Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org