Jump to navigation
The State offers several group term life insurance plans through the Minnesota Life Insurance Company. All eligible employees are automatically enrolled in the Basic Life insurance plan and are also eligible to enroll in the Voluntary Life insurance plan for themselves and their eligible dependents.
All life insurance includes a matching amount of Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) coverage.
Minnesota Life Insurance Company
• Basic Life and AD&D Insurance (employer paid)
• Voluntary Life and AD&D Insurance (employee paid)
You are automatically enrolled in the Basic Life and AD&D Insurance plan. The State pays 100% of your Basic Life and AD&D Insurance premium.
Be sure to designate a beneficiary for your life insurance and make changes to keep it current. Your beneficiary designations must be made through the State’s online benefits administration system, Benefitsolver.com.
The FY 2017-18 Basic Life and AD&D Insurance benefit is equal to one times your annual base regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000 (with a minimum benefit of $50,000 and a maximum benefit of $250,000).
You can enroll for additional life insurance for yourself, your spouse and your eligible child(ren). You can purchase Voluntary Life and AD&D insurance at a minimum of $10,000 and up to a maximum of $500,000 (in
increments of $10,000) for yourself at any time. When you enroll in Voluntary Life Insurance for yourself, you can elect life coverage for your spouse (including common-law spouse), civil union partner, and same-sex domestic partner in increments of $10,000 up to a maximum of $250,000 (not to exceed 50% of the employee’s voluntary life coverage), and for your eligible child(ren) in the amounts of $5,000 or $10,000.
Enrollment and providing Evidence of Insurability (EOI) is completed at Benefitsolver.com and must be completed when you or your spouse apply for new coverage or increase coverage during open enrollment.
According to Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 79, group term life insurance coverage in excess of $50,000 may be subject to federal taxes based on a rate table provided by the IRC. The amount of life insurance in excess of $50,000 is multiplied by a premium rate based on age as of the end of the calendar year, which results in a monthly amount of imputed income.
There are separate premiums for employees and spouses/ domestic partners/civil union partners. For optional child life insurance, eligible children may be covered up to age 26 (coverage terminates the end of the month turning 26).
Evidence of Insurability (EOIs) MUST be completed when an employee or spouse/domestic partner/civil union partner is applying for new coverage or increasing coverage during open enrollment. This process will occur in the online Benefits Administration System (BAS). At the conclusion of your open enrollment choices, you will be offered a button to begin the EOI process. You complete the EOI form online and submit it immediately and electronically to Minnesota Life Insurance Company. Children with optional child life coverage must be listed— name, age, social security number—and the optional child life insurance must be indicated for the child by clicking the “yes” button next to their names on the screen for optional child life insurance.
Spouses/domestic partners/civil union partners and eligible children added to optional life insurance during open enrollment must be verified by providing the appropriate documentation to your agency benefit administrator.
If your spouse/domestic partner/civil union partner or child is also a State employee, they may be covered for their own optional life as an employee or as a spouse/domestic partner/civil union partner or child under your plan, but not both. Double optional life coverage is not allowed.
Basic and Optional Life Coverage provided by Minnesota Life with a Dedicate Customer Service Line 1-877-828-7728 for questions on claims, evidence of insurability forms, coverage, portability, and conversion.