Per Colorado Revised Statute 24-10-109; to file a claim against the State of Colorado you must submit a form to the Colorado Attorney General. To initiate the claim process, please complete the New Claim Information Form, print and mail it to the address listed on the form, or you may call the State Office of Risk Management at 303-866-3848 inside the Denver Metro Area, or 1-800-268-8092 outside the Denver Metro Area, to have a form mailed to you. The form should be completed and returned to the Attorney General per the instructions on the form.
A damage claim has legal standing once it has been filed in writing, within 182 days of the loss, at the Attorney General’s Office, as required by statute. Upon receiving claim information, the State Office of Risk Management (SORM) sets up a claim file and assigns claims to adjusters to investigate the occurrence and bring the claim to conclusion, either by settlement or denial. State statutes limit recovery for damages, which are paid by SORM under the Risk Management Act. State agencies are prohibited by statute from making payments for damages themselves. The statutory references are C.R.S. 24-30-1510(3)(e) & 24-30- 1520 respectfully.
After your form has been received by the Attorney General, you should hear from an Adjuster with a determination; either the State accepts liability or the State denies liability. This may take up to 8 weeks. If the State has accepted liability the Adjuster will negotiate a settlement with you and send a release form. Once you return the release form, a check will be requested to be sent to you. You should receive a check from the State of Colorado within 10-15 business days of returning the release form to the Adjuster. If the State denies liability, you will receive a letter explaining why your claim is denied.
Already submitted a claim?
Find out the status if the State Office of Risk Management has received it by clicking here.