Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
The FMLA entitles eligible employees who work for covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave in a defined 12-month period for specified family and medical reasons. Under FMLA, eligible employees are federally entitled up to 12-weeks of un-paid leave. The State’s policy on FMLA leave grants employees 13 weeks (520 hours) of leave.
FEATURED: Changes to Leave Tracking under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
The FMLA requires that employers select one of four approved methods to establish the 12-month tracking period to be uniformly applied to all employees taking FMLA leave.
Currently the State of Colorado provides eligible employees with 13 weeks (520 hours) of FMLA leave per year based on a fixed calendar method that runs from July 1 – June 30, consistent with the state’s fiscal year.
Effective July 1, 2014, FMLA leave will be allotted based on a “rolling” 12-month period measured backward from the date an employee begins using FMLA leave. This change will help create equity among employees and will provide for a more efficient tracking process. All FMLA eligible employees will begin with their full FMLA entitlement of 520 hours on July 1, 2014. We will spend a year tracking the FMLA leave. Beginning July 2015, FMLA leave entitlements will take into consideration FMLA leave taken during the previous 12-month period.
- FMLA FAQ
- FMLA Rights Poster
- FMLA Rights Poster - Spanish
- FMLA Designation
- FMLA Eligibility and Rights and Responsibilities
- FMLA: Eligibility and Rights and Responsibilities - Spanish
- FMLA Tracking Form.xls
- GINA Safe Harbor Statement: Individual
- GINA Safe Harbor Statement: Family
- Medical Certifications: Employee
- Medical Certifications: Employee - Spanish
- Medical Certifications: Employee's Family Member
- Medical Certifications: Qualifying Exigency
- Medical Certifications: Serious Injury/Illness for a Current Servicemember
- Medical Certifications: Serious Injury/llness of a Veteran Caregiver Leave
The information contained on this website is intended for the State of Colorado Government employees. If you are a State of Colorado Government employee and have questions regarding FMLA please contact your agency Human Resources office or the Statewide FMLA coordinator via email at firstname.lastname@example.org. If you are a private employer or work for a private employer in the State of Colorado and have questions regarding FMLA please contact the Department of Labor Wage & Hour Dividion at 720.264.3250.