News Release: Colorado's First Fire Commission Members Appointed


For more information, contact:

Caley Fisher | | 720-391-1565


Denver, CO– The Colorado Department of Public Safety (CDPS) Executive Director, Stan Hilkey, appointed Colorado’s first fire commission members this week. 


“I would like to thank all of the outstanding members of our community who applied to be part of this commission, and I congratulate those who were selected,” Director Hilkey said. “As Colorado’s fire problem continues to escalate and become more complex, we are excited to get started on the very important work of looking at fire, as a whole, in Colorado and how we can make our state safer.”


Governor Jared Polis signed SB19-040, establishing Colorado’s Fire Commission, led by the Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control (DFPC).


The Commission aims to enhance public safety in Colorado through an integrated statewide process focused on the fire service's capacity to conduct fire management and use, preparedness, prevention, and response activities to safeguard lives, property, and natural resources, and increase the resiliency of local and regional communities.  


The commission is made up of 24 voting members and at least 7 ex-officio members; the group is authorized to develop task forces to find solutions to a wide range of issues that impact Colorado’s fire service.The list of appointees is below.


As the fire commission moves forward, updates will be posted to the Colorado Fire Commission website. Click here to access the website


Click here to read SB19-040