Colorado Fire Commission Member Application

Dear Colorado Fire Programs Stakeholder,

On June 3, Governor Polis signed Senate Bill 19-040 into law. SB 19-040 establishes the Colorado Fire Commission in the Division of Fire Prevention and Control to “enhance public safety in Colorado through an integrated statewide process focused on the fire service’s capacity to conduct fire management and use, preparedness, prevention, and response activities to safeguard lives, property, including utility and communication infrastructure, and natural resources, and increase the resilience of local and regional communities.” 

The Commission consists of 24 voting members nominated by member organizations and appointed by Department of Public Safety Executive Director Stan Hilkey, and at least 7 ex-officio, non-voting members.

If you are interested in serving on the Colorado Fire Commission, please fill out this form by July 12, 2019. Executive Director Hilkey will review submitted applications, coordinate with member agencies who are represented on the Commission, and make final appointments by August 5, 2019.

The first year of meetings are scheduled as follows:

  • October 9, 2019 in Glenwood Springs
  • January 7, 2020 in Colorado Springs
  • April 7, 2020 in Windsor
  • July 7, 2020 in Durango

Travel expenses are reimbursable for Commission members. Please make sure you can attend these critical first four meetings before you submit an application.

If you have any questions about the Fire Commission or the application process, please contact us at 303-239-5865.

Click here to view the Commission Website