Emergency Fire Fund (EFF)

The Fund was established in 1967 by a group of Colorado counties that recognized that some wildfires may exceed the counties’ individual resources and ability to manage. Participation is voluntary, and currently 43 out of 64 counties in Colorado participate. A 9 person committee comprised of 3 County Commissioners, 3 County Sheriffs, 2 Fire Chiefs, and the Director of the Division of Fire Prevention and Control oversees the administration of the Fund. A county's annual contribution to the Fund is calculated using a formula based on the number of forested acres in the county and the annual property tax valuation. Counties with large amounts of forested acres and a high assess valuation pay more into the Fund than counties with large acreage of federal lands and low assessed valuation. Requests for assistance from the Fund must originate from the County Sheriff and DFPC approval is required. Once accepted, an EFF fire is managed under the direction of DFPC.

2017 Spring EFF Committee Meeting

Wednesday, April 12 th, 2017, 10 am - 2 pm.

Buffalo Mountain Room, Frisco County Commons, 0037 Peak One Drive, Frisco, CO 80443

2016 EFF Information

Table of Contents
EFF History
EFF Committee Members
FMO Contact List
Map - EFF counties
2016 EFF Fires
EFF Fund Summary
EFF Agreement
EFF Forms which is copy of DFPC Forms 1-6
EFF Meeting Minutes 042816