Certification

List of Current Display and Pyrotechnic Operators

Fireworks Display Operator Certification           $50.00

New applicants must take an exam administered by DFPC, $30.00 Fee per exam attempt (exam based upon 2010 version of NFPA 1123

Please use this form when applying for a Display Operator License for large outdoor displays –previous editions will not be accepted after 60 days from any dated change
All applications must include:
-Complete, typed and signed Display Operator Application
-Notarized Affidavit of Legal Residency
-Colorado Bureau of Investigation Background Check (mail with $13.00 fee to the address at the top of the Request)
-Copy of Driver License or Identification Card
-Proof of Current Safety Training
-New applicants must take an exam administered by DFPC, $30.00 Fee per exam attempt
-Renewing applicants must demonstrate recent participation with Outdoor Fireworks Displays

-Payment of $50.00
**Please visit https://www.colorado.gov/payment/dfpc-fireworks and select 'Display Operator' as the Service type. You must submit your payment receipt to have this credited to your application.

Please email all documents and online payment receipt, except for the CBI Background Check, to cdps_dfpc_fireworks@state.co.us


Pyrotechnic Operator Certification                     $50.00

New applicants must take an exam administered by DFPC, $30.00 Fee per exam attempt (exam based upon 2001 version of NFPA 1126)

-Please use this form when applying for a Pyrotechnic Operator License for close proximity displays, both indoor and outdoor – previous editions will not be accepted after 60 days from any dated change
All applications must include:
-Complete, typed and signed Pyrotechnic Operator Application
-Notarized Affidavit of Legal Residency
-Colorado Bureau of Investigation Background Check (mail with $13.00 fee to the address at the top of the Request)
-Copy of Driver License or Identification Card
-Proof of Current Safety Training
-New applicants must take an exam administered by DFPC, $30.00 Fee per exam attempt
-Renewing applicants must demonstrate recent participation with Pyrotechnic Displays

-Payment of $50.00
**Please visit https://www.colorado.gov/payment/dfpc-fireworks and select 'Pyrotechnic Operator' as the Service type. You must submit your payment receipt to have this credited to your application.

Please email all documents and online payment receipt, except for the CBI Background Check, to cdps_dfpc_fireworks@state.co.us

Payment Information: The price to make a Credit Card payment to DFPC will be $0.75 plus 2.25% of the transaction amount. The flat fee for an ACH or electronic check payment is $1.00.

Since the transaction must be processed through the state’s official web portal, Colorado.gov, the payment is subject to portal pricing and under a contract administered under the authority of Colorado’s Statewide Internet Portal Authority as designated in statute CRS 24.37.7-101.