Sex Offender Management Board

In 1992, the Colorado General Assembly passed legislation that created a Sex Offender Treatment Board to develop standards and guidelines for the assessment, evaluation, treatment and behavioral monitoring of sex offenders. The General Assembly changed the name to the Sex Offender Management Board (SOMB) in 1998 to more accurately reflect the duties assigned to the SOMB. 

Treatment providers: Find resources, forms, applications, updates and more on our Sex Offender Management Unit Page.

The Board reviews, develops and revises the standards and guidelines using a comprehensive, transparent public process

Adult Standards

The Standards and Guidelines for the Assessment, Evaluation, Treatment and Behavioral Monitoring of Adult Sex Offenders (Adult Standards and Guidelines) were originally drafted by the SOMB over a period of two years and were first published in January 1996. The Adult Standards and Guidelines were subsequently revised in 1998, 1999, 2004, 2008, 2011, 2017, and 2018 based upon statutory mandate. 

The board shall research, either through direct evaluation or through a review of relevant research articles, and sex offender treatment empirical data, and analyze, through a comprehensive review of evidence-based practices, the effectiveness of the evaluation, identification, and treatment policies and procedures for adult sex offenders developed pursuant to this article. This research shall specifically include, but need not be limited to, reviewing and researching reoffense and factors that contribute to reoffense for sex offenders as defined in this article, the effective use of cognitive behavioral therapy to prevent reoffense, the use of polygraph in treatment, and the containment model for adult sex offender management and treatment and its effective application…” (§16-11.7-103 (4) (e), C.R.S.)

Juvenile Standards

In 2000, the Colorado General Assembly amended and passed legislation (§16-11.7-103 (4) (j), C.R.S.) that required the SOMB to develop the Standards and Guidelines for the Evaluation, Assessment, Treatment and Supervision of Juveniles Who Have Committed Sexual Offenses (Juvenile Standards and Guidelines). The legislative mandate to the SOMB was to develop and implement methods of intervention for juveniles, recognizing the need for standards and guidelines specific to these youth. These Standards continue to hold public safety as a priority, specifically the physical and psychological safety of victims and potential victims. The Juvenile Standards and Guidelines were first published in 2002, and subsequently revised in 2003, 2008, 2011, and 2014. 

Board Meetings

The SOMB conducts regular monthly meetings as well as a number of different sub-committee meetings. All meetings are open to the public.

Sex Offender Management Board Members

The SOMB consists of members representing the following domains: the Department of Corrections, the Judicial Department, law enforcement, the Public Defender's Office, private criminal defense attorneys, rural and urban County Commissioners, clinical polygraph examiners, the Division of Youth Services Representative, Department of Public Safety, District Attorneys, the Department of Human Services, licensed mental health professionals with expertise in treating sex offenders, the victim services community, the Department of Education, and community corrections. These members also participate in SOMB Committees.

Honorable Marcelo Kopcow - Chair  District Court Representative (06/01/2018 - 05/31/2022)

Allison Boyd (03/26/2018 - 03/26/2022)
Victim's Representative  

Amanda Gall  (02/20/2018 - 02/22/2022)
District Attorney Representative.

Angel Weant (11/01/2015 - 10/31/2019)
Judicial Department Representative

Nicole Leon (01/14/2019 - 01/14/2023)
Victim Advocate Representative

Dr. Carl Blake (07/18/2016 - 07/18/2020)
Division of Youth Services Representative

Glenn Knipscheer (01/19/2019 - 01/19/2023)
Polygraph Examiner Representative

Detective Jeff Shay (01/21/2019 - 01/21/2023)
Law Enforcement Representative 

Jesse Hansen (11/01/2017- 11/01/2021)
Division of Criminal Justice Representative 

Kandy Moore (11/02/2016 - 11/02/2020)
Victim's Representative  

Kathryn Heffron (10/17/2018 - 10/17/2022)
Public Defender Representative          

Lisa Mayer (01/01/2019-01/01/2023)
Division of Child Welfare Representative 

Leonard Woodson III (03/22/2016 - 03/22/2020)
Department of Corrections Representative

John Odenheimer - Vice Chair Community Corrections Representative (9/16/2016 - 09/16/2020)     

Mark Waller  (05/10/2018 - 05/10/2022)
Urban County Commissioner Representative

Kimberly Kline (08/26/2019 - 08/26/2023)
Mental Health Professional Representative  

Norma Aguilar-Dave (07/01/2016 - 07/01/2020)
Out-of-Home Placement Representative
Richard Bednarski (11/22/2016 - 11/22/2020)
Private Defense Bar Representative      

Dr. Rick May (06/04/2018 - 06/04/2022)
Mental Health Professional Representative                     

Robin Singer (10/2/2017 - 10/20/2021)
Department of Education Representative 

Sharon Holbrook (06/01/2018 - 05/31/2022)
Juvenile Judge Representative

Steve Moreno (05/10/2018 - 05/10/2022)
Rural County Commissioner Representative

Taber Powers   (05/10/2018 - 05/10/2022)
Mental Health Professional Representative 

Tom Leversee, LCSW (05/06/2017 - 05/06/2021)
Mental Health Professional Representative

Tony Rodriguez (10/17/2018 - 10/17/2022)
County Director of Social Services Representative