Congratulations to the SAFER Grant Recipients!

Competitive Funding Results

(Dec 14, 2018) The State of Colorado’s Legislature allocated $4,857,354 for the SFY 2019 School Access For Emergency Response (SAFER) Grant ProgramCompetitive Funding Results. The SAFER Program enacted by SB18-158 provides funding for interoperable communication hardware, software, equipment maintenance, and training to allow for seamless communications between existing school communications systems and first responder communications systems. It is with great pleasure that we announce that of the thirty-nine (39) applicants who had submitted their applications for this competitive funding opportunity, twelve local education providers were selected to receive funding.  Thank you to all of those who applied for the SAFER Grant Program. 

Please do not be discouraged if you were not selected this year, as everyone is eligible to apply again next year.  The funding announcement for the next SAFER will take place in the first calendar quarter of 2019, and we will reach out to you then.

The Following Applicants Were Accepted

Montrose County School District     $595,910.00

Adams 12 School District               $127,732.00

Durango School District                 $521,711.00

Montezuma-Cortez RE-1                $200,321.00

Del Norte School District               $124,550.00

Archuleta School District 50           $150,694.00

Sheridan School District                 $361,674.00

Pueblo City Schools D-60               $1,137,610.00

Norwood School District                $3,536.00

Primero School District                  $27,197.00

Lamar School District                    $246,305.00

Cherry Creek School District          $1,360,114.00

Decision Notification

This memorandum constitutes notification of the agency decision.  Any request for reconsideration should be sent to: by 12/21/2018.  For more information, please visit: