Jump to navigation
MCSAP HOME PAGE I FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS I FORMS AND PUBLICATIONS I CHAIN LAW INFORMATION I CONTACT MCSAP
WInter driving conditions can be expected in the Colorado High Country as early as September and as late as May. Travelers must be prepared to drive safely at all times and in all conditions. Click here to view a winter driving guide to help you safely navigate our beautiful mountain roads during these winter months.
Colorado's Chain Law:
Commercial vehicles operating on I-70 in either direction between milepost 133 (Dotsero) and milepost 259 (Morrison) must carry sufficient chains (traction devices) for the type of vehicle being driven to be in compliance with the chain law requirements should they go into effect (see video below).
Penalty for non-compliance: $50.00 fine plus a $17.00 surcharge
When chain law has been put into effect for your type of vehicle -
Commercial vehicles with a gross combined weight rating of 26,001 lbs or more are required to have 4 or more drive wheels covered with an appropriate traction device (busses excepted). Vehicles with less than 4 drive wheels must have all drive wheels covered with an appropriate traction device. CLICK HERE to see requirements for your type of vehicle.
Penalty for non-compliance: $500.00 fine plus a $79.00 surcharge or, if you are stuck and blocking any traveled portion of the roadway the fine is $1,000.00 plus a $157.00 surcharge
Code 17 and 18 require all vehicles to have safe tire tread and for Commercial Vehicles to utilize chains and/or alternate traction control devices. Code 17 and 18 apply to Commercial Vehicles...
Code 15 and 16 impacts non-commercial vehicles requiring all vehicles to have snow tires and/or tire chains and/or traction devices. Click here to view requirements.