MOST: Ride Wise
Enjoy the Ride: Importance of Safety Training
For every rider, both new and experienced, the best way to enjoy the ride is to get trained. Training helps you ride safely, ride further and stay alive.
Of the 106 motorcycle operators killed in Colorado in 2015, 35 percent did not have a motorcycle endorsement on their driver's license, or had no license at all. This statistic indicates these riders had little or no professional training, or had a lack of recent training.
By taking a Motorcycle Operator Safety Training (MOST) class, you'll not only have an opportunity to increase your riding skill set and earn your motorcycle endorsement; you'll meet a community of like-minded riders who share your love of the open road. Know what to expect from a MOST training course.
Getting the Most from MOST
Even if you already have an endorsement, consider taking a training class to build your riding skills—no matter your age or how long you've been riding.
MOST makes it easy to get endorsed.
MOST trains you to ride safely through just about anything you'll encounter on Colorado roadways.
MOST ensures high-quality motorcycle training.
MOST completion qualifies you for valuable discounts at local retailers and insurance companies.
MOST is available to Colorado residents and active-duty military personnel.
To experience the course through a rider's perspective, check out Ken Bingenheimer's blog posts on the BRC2.
To find a BRC class near you, click here.
For specific questions about the MOST program, contact us.
Colorado Endorsement Process
The Motorcycle Operator Safety Training (MOST) program was created in 1991 by Colorado Statute. It mandates that CDOT establish a motorcycle operator safety training program that promotes motorcycle safety awareness and supports courses to develop the knowledge, attitudes, habits and skills necessary for the safe operation of a motorcycle.
The MOST program includes instruction relating to the effects of alcohol and drugs on the operation of motorcycles, and a course to train instructors. CDOT sets standards for the certification of courses in the program and contracts with vendors for the purpose of providing MOST program classes.
Your best option for getting a motorcycle endorsement is through MOST. Riders who pass a MOST class can simply take their completion card to a state driver's license office to get an endorsement with no further testing needed.
To be a legal motorcycle rider in Colorado, you must have the proper endorsement on your driver's license.
The general motorcycle endorsement "M" qualifies you to ride a two- or three-wheel motorcycle. Scooters and other low-power vehicles under 50cc, or that have a speed capacity less than 40 mph, do not qualify as motorcycles in Colorado. However, you must have at least a basic driver's license to operate them.
Another way to get a motorcycle endorsement is to pass a written exam and riding test at your local licensing office. Download a copy of Colorado's Motorcycle Operator's Handbook.
"I knew how to ride a motorcycle but taking a MOST class made it easy to brush up on my skills, learn some new ones and be able to get my motorcycle endorsement at the DMV without any hassle."
“Despite growing up riding dirt bikes, I went into the MOST class unaware, unsteady and even unsure I could handle riding a motorcycle on the roads. The Basic Rider Course not only taught me the skills I needed to feel comfortable, even confident, on a motorcycle, but the knowledge base of proper gear, the rules of the road and different riding scenarios.”