2013 Flood Disaster Study Committee


    Report to Legislative Council                      Final Report                


Committee Members
Senators Representatives
Scott Renfroe, Co-chair Dave Young, Co-chair
Matt Jones Brian DelGrosso
John Kefalas Mike Foote
Kent Lambert Stephen Humphrey
Kevin Lundberg Jonathan Singer
Jeanne Nicholson Jerry Sonnenberg


Staff Contacts:

David Beaujon

Julia Jackson

Mistia Zuckerman

(303) 866-3521

To contact committee staff, please email:

2013 Committee Schedule
Meeting Information Time Location
November 5 Agenda Summary 9:00 a.m. SCR 356
November 18 Itinerary Summary 9:00 a.m. Tour and Meeting
November 19 Itinerary Summary 9:00 a.m. Tour and Meeting
December 20 Agenda Summary 8:00 a.m. SCr 354
January 7 Agenda Summary 1:30 p.m. HCR 0107
January 31 (Meeting Cancelled) Agenda Summary 1:30 p.m. HCR 0112
February 14 Agenda Summary 1:30 p.m. HCR 0112


Reports, Issue Briefs, and Memoranda
Date Title/Subject
September 26, 2013 Legislation Addressing 1965 and 1976 Flooding
October 9, 2013 Resolution of the Executive Committee of the Legislative Council
October 16, 2013 Colorado United
October 21, 2013 Overview of the Flood Disaster Study Committee
October 31, 2013 Colorado Law Addressing Flood Disasters
November 5, 2013 Impact of September 2013 Flooding
  TABOR Reform Memo
November 18, 2013 2013 Flood - Larimer County
  2013 Flood Response - Larimer County
  2013 Flood - Estes Park, Colorado
November 19, 2013 Town of Milliken - 2013 Flood
December 18, 2013 2014 Flood Recovery Proposal #1
  2014 Flood Recovery Proposal #2
  2014 Flood Recovery Proposal #3
January 7, 2014 Historical Snapshot of Impacted Drinking Water and Wastewater Systems
  September 2013 Flood Water Quality Sampling Summary
February 3, 2014 Letter to Department of Housing and Urban Development
March 6, 2014 Letter to Joint Budget Committee regarding House Bill 14-1002
May 20, 2014 Summary of 2014 Flood and Disaster Bills


Proposed Legislation
Bill Designation Short Title
HB 14-1001 Tax Credit for Property Damaged by a Natural Cause
HB14-1003 Nonresident Disaster Relief Worker Tax Exemption
SB14-007 County General Fund for Road & Bridge Flood Damage
HB14-1004 CDPS Emergency Management Entities & Disaster Assistance
HB14-1005 Relocate Ditch Headgate Without Change Case
HB14-1006 Tax Remittance for Local Marketing Districts
SB14-138 Civil Immunity for Volunteers at Emergencies
HB14-1002 Water Infrastructure Natural Disaster Grant Fund
HJR14-1010 Recognition of Flood Recovery Efforts Throughout the State
HB14-1287 BEST Moneys for Flood Damaged Public Schools
LLS 14-0924 Flood Debris Cleanup Grants
LLS 14-0925 South Platte River Post-Flood Phreatophyte
LLS 14-0920 Rebuilding of Flood-Damaged Communities