Interstate commission for EMS personnel practice

News about REPLICA, Commission meeting schedules.
Colorado was among the first in the nation to pass into law the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact or REPLICA, which, once operational, will help facilitate the legal interstate movement of credentialed EMS providers. Eighteen states have enacted legislation, these states are: Colorado, Texas, Idaho, Kansas, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming, Mississippi, Georgia, Alabama, Delaware, Nebraska, South Carolina, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota and Iowa.
Even though many states have joined, the EMS compact is not yet active. The compact’s commission had its first meeting in October 2017, and is now meeting regularly. The commission is primarily focused on rules, policies and procedures related to cross-border practice for EMS Providers.
Benefits of the compact include providing a framework, under authorized circumstances, for day-to-day movement across state lines by eliminating the need for dual or multiple certifications, facilitating cross-state responses to large-scale emergencies such as fires and floods, and ensuring consistent screening and standards between member states such as background checks and National Registry competencies.